2010 NFL Draft expands to three days, moves to primetime

NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell has officially notified teams that the NFL Draft is a-changin.  Beginning in 2010, the NFL Draft will start Thursday April 22 and end Saturday April 24.  Thursday April 22 will consist of just the first round, beginning at 7:30pm Eastern/4:30pm Pacific.  Friday April 23 will consist of rounds two and three starting at 6:30pm Eastern/3:30pm Pacific.  Saturday April 24 will consist of rounds four through seven and will kick off at 10am Eastern/7am Pacific.

Apparently 39 milion people watched the 2009 NFL Draft.  That numer is probably a bit nebulous as I don't know if that number includes someone who flipped on ESPN or the NFL Network for 5 minutes for a quick update.  Either way, the draft has become a wildly popular event and I'm not surprised that the NFL wants to get some of that weekday primetime advertising money.

Commissioner Goodell had the following to say:

"We continue to look for ways to make the draft more accessible to more fans," Goodell said in a statement. "Moving the first round to prime time on Thursday night will make the first round of the draft available to fans on what is typically the most-watched night of television."

Anybody buy that?  Obviously there's money to be had here, but on top of that, does that improve access to the draft?  Given that it was airing on Saturday and Sunday I don't know.  But, nonetheless, it is happening.  Personally I liked the idea of powering through a weekend of draft talk.  At the same time, spreading this over three days gives us a chance to take a breath and get some more quality analysis out there for you.  In the end do you see this as a good thing, a bad thing, or indifferent?

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Niners Nation

You must be a member of Niners Nation to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Niners Nation. You should read them.

Join Niners Nation

You must be a member of Niners Nation to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Niners Nation. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9341_tracker