clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Initial 49ers Depth Chart Revealed: What To Make Of It

New, comments

During yesterday's practice, the 49ers released a first depth chart of training camp. Apparently league rules mandate a depth chart before Friday's game. Otherwise I would imagine Coach Harbaugh would have preferred keeping it under wraps. Thanks to MM and Sam Lam for posting a version of it. I've pasted it after the jump for your perusal.

Most of the first team is not all that surprising. Even Adam Snyder listed as the number one center shouldn't really be too shocking for now. Although, it is worth noting that both Carlos Rogers and Donte Whitner are listed as starters at their respective positions fresh out of free agency. Dashon Goldson is not yet listed as the 49ers have not technically announced his signing yet. Of course, Coach Harbaugh referenced him after practice and it sounds like he's pretty much locked in.

There are some note-worthy backups on the depth chart. Braylon Edwards is currently behind Ted Ginn and Lance Long is sitting right behind Josh Morgan and ahead of Ronald Johnson. That's interesting to say the least.

UDFA favorite Ian Williams is currently listed as a third string defensive end, which seems a bit peculiar given his work at nose tackle the last week and a half. I'm not really sure what to make of that at this point. Among the rookies as well, we see Chris Culliver in right behind Carlos Rogers and ahead of Phillip Adams. It's not exactly stunning to see a 2011 third round pick potentially surpassing a 2010 seventh round pick, but it's still interesting to see it so early in camp.

How do you see the depth chart shaking out after the preseason opener against New Orleans?

QB -- Alex Smith, Colin Kaepernick, Jeremiah Masoli, McLeod Bethel-Thompson.
RB -- Frank Gore, Anthony Dixon, Kendall Hunter, Xavier Omon, Seth Smith.
FB -- Moran Norris, Bruce Miller, Jack Corcoran.
WR -- Ted Ginn, Braylon Edwards, Kyle Williams, Kevin Jurovich, Chris Hogan.
WR -- Josh Morgan, Lance Long, Ronald Johnson, Joe Hastings, Tyler Beiler.
TE -- Vernon Davis, Delanie Walker, Konrad Reuland, Colin Cloherty, Chris Blohm.
LT -- Joe Staley, Alex Boone, Donovan Edwards.
LG -- Mike Iupati, Daniel Kilgore, Nick Howell.
C -- Adam Snyder, Jonathan Goodwin, Chase Beeler.
RG -- Chilo Rachal, Tony Wragge, Derek Hall.
RT -- Anthony Davis, Mike Person, Kenny Wiggins.

LDE -- Ray McDonald, Demarcus Dobbs, Ian Williams.
NT -- Isaac Sopoaga, Ricky Jean Francois, Sealver Siliga.
RDE -- Justin Smith, Will Tukuafu, Brian Bulcke.
LOLB -- Ahmad Brooks, Antwan Applewhite, Monte Simmons.
ILB -- NaVorro Bowman, Larry Grant, Scott McKillop, Alex Joseph.
ILB -- Patrick Willis, Keaton Kristick, Blake Costanzo.
ROLB -- Parys Haralson, Aldon Smith, Thaddeus Gibson, Kenny Rowe.
LCB -- Carlos Rogers, Chris Culliver, Phillip Adams, Cory Nelms
RCB -- Shawntae Spencer, Tarell Brown, Tramaine Brock, Phillip Davis.
FS -- Reggie Smith, Madieu Williams, Chris Maragos, Curtis Taylor.
SS -- Donte Whitner, C.J. Spillman, Taylor Mays, Anthony West, Colin Jones.

Special teams
PR -- Ted Ginn, Kyle Williams, Ronald Johnson.
KOR -- Ted Ginn, Kendall Hunter, Chris Culliver.
P -- Andy Lee.
K -- David Akers, Fabrizio Scaccia.
H -- Andy Lee.
LS -- Brian Jennings.