clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

San Francisco 49ers Roster Cuts: Ronald Johnson, Tony Wragge Among Notable Cuts

The San Francisco 49ers had until 3:00pm pacific today to cut their roster down to 53 players and they have reached that number upon approval by the league. Head after the jump to view all the cuts. The most notable cuts are probably offensive lineman Tony Wragge and wide receiver Ronald Johnson. Wragge is not surprising given that the team likes what Adam Snyder can do as a utility guy. Throw in the fact that they seem pleased with the development of Daniel Kilgore and it's not surprising.

Ronald Johnson was a sixth round pick of the 49ers but he struggled quite a bit during preseason action. It will be interesting to see if the team decides he is worth continuing to develop as a wide receiver.

One of the more interesting decisions came at the third tight end position. The team placed Nate Byham on injured reserve and then cut both Konrad Reuland and Nate Lawrie. Reports indicate the team wants to sign Reuland to their practice squad if he clears waivers. However, for now this leaves the team with only two tight ends. I think it's safe to say the team will be looking to add a tight end in free agency. If that's the case, we can expect another cut among the bubble players at some point in the next day or two.

You can view the entire 53-man roster at Coach Harbaugh has a conference call planned for 5:15pm so I'll try and hop on that. Final cuts after the jump


CB        Phillip Adams
C        Chase Beeler
QB       McLeod Bethel-Thompson
DT       Brian Bulcke
FB        Jack Corcoran
CB        Phillip Davis
T          Derek Hall
WR      Joe Hastings
WR      Chris Hogan
WR      Ronald Johnson
LB      Alex Joseph
TE        Nate Lawrie
WR      Lance Long
S          Chris Maragos
QB       Josh McCown
CB        Cory Nelms
RB        Xavier Omon
TE        Konrad Reuland
LB        Kenny Rowe
NT       Sealver Siliga
LB        Monte Simmons
FS        Curtis Taylor
DB       Anthony West
T        Kenny Wiggins
G        Tony Wragge
WR     Dominique Zeigler