clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

49ers Postseason Honors: Pro Football Weekly Honors Jim Harbaugh, Trent Baalke, Other 49ers

The postseason honors are rolling along as the 49ers are being honored for what has been a tremendous year for the players, coaching staff and front office. After having numerous played named to the All-Pro Team and Pro Bowl roster, more individual awards are coming out. The folks at Pro Football Weekly and the Professional Football Writers of America put together their NFL awards, including All-NFL rosters and individual postseason honors.

Jim Harbaugh was the easy selection for Coach of the Year. Even before Saturday's win, I can't see how there is any contest for anything other than second place with this award. Marv Lewis did some good things in Cincinnati and Mike McCarthy will get some credit for the Packers 15-1 regular season. But I see no way to logically justify anybody but Jim Harbaugh.

Trent Baalke was named Executive of the Year following an offseason in which he masterfully made roster moves that provided Jim Harbaugh with an awesome roster. He did not hit on every roster move, but he hit on most. Whether it was going out to sign Carlos Rogers, David Akers, Donte Whitner and others, or letting Aubrayo Franklin and Takeo Spikes walk to promote from within, he has been the man with the golden touch.

Among the players, David Akers and Andy Lee were co-winners of the Golden Toe award, which goes to the Best kicker OR punter. It is only proper that they both be recognized for outstanding work. Additionally, Lee, Akers, Justin Smith and Patrick Willis made the PFW/PFWA all-NFL first team. Aldon Smith made their All-Rookie team. They select two running backs and no fullback so Bruce Miller did not really have much chance to make the rookie team.

The team also distributed one of their internal awards, as center Jonathan Goodwin was named the 2011 Bobb McKittrick Award winner. The award goes to the 49ers offensive lineman who best exemplifies the dedication, excellence and commitment of former offensive line coach Bobb McKittrick. The 49ers have not made those awards official, but there were some tweets going around last night.