clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

49ers depth chart 2012: Week 1 vs. Week 9 and what would you change?

We break down changes in the 49ers depth chart since Week 1, and consider changes that are worth making.

Mark J. Rebilas-US PRESSWIRE

In our continuing efforts to assess the first half of the season, some of the content will be a bit more thought-provoking than other content. In the case of the 49ers 2012 depth chart, almost nothing has changed from the Week 1 depth chart to the current bye week depth chart.

There have been two changes to the depth chart since Week 1. The first change has Ted Ginn Jr. no longer listed as the primary kickoff returner. Of course, we know he is returning both kicks and punts for the 49ers, so this is not really an accurate reflection of the roster. The second change has Will Tukuafu officially listed as the No. 3 fullback behind Bruce Miller and Anthony Dixon. In reality. Tukuafu is the backup fullback ahead of Dixon.

Given how little change there has been, I thought we could focus more on changes we might prefer the team make. Even in that regard I'm not sure I see much worth adjusting at this point. I know there has been plenty of discussion about getting more playing time for LaMichael James and A.J. Jenkins, but I'm not sure there is much to be done from a depth chart standpoint. James is currently behind Brandon Jacobs on the depth chart, and some might argue to move him ahead. However, at this point, Jacobs appears to simply be an insurance policy for Gore, which makes the depth chart standing a little easier to understand.

Other than that, the 49ers depth chart decisions really do seem to make plenty of sense as is. Here is the current 49ers depth chart:

WR: Michael Crabtree, Kyle Williams, A.J. Jenkins
WR: Randy Moss, Mario Manningham, Ted Ginn Jr.
LT: Joe Staley
LG: Mike Iupati, Joe Looney
C: Jonathan Goodwin, Daniel Kilgore
RG: Alex Boone, Leonard Davis
RT: Anthony Davis
TE: Vernon Davis, Delanie Walker, Demarcus Dobbs, Garrett Celek
FB: Bruce Miller, Anthony Dixon, Will Tukuafu
RB: Frank Gore, Kendall Hunter, Brandon Jacobs, LaMichael James
QB: Alex Smith, Colin Kaepernick, Scott Tolzien

LDT: Ray McDonald, Ricky Jean Francois
NT: Isaac Sopoaga, Will Tukuafu, Ian Williams
RDT: Justin Smith, Demarcus Dobbs
OLB: Ahmad Brooks, Clark Haggans
ILB: NaVorro Bowman, Larry Grant
ILB: Patrick Willis, Tavares Gooden
OLB: Aldon Smith, Clark Haggans
LCB: Carlos Rogers, Perrish Cox, Tramaine Brock
RCB: Tarell Brown, Chris Culliver
FS: Dashon Goldson, C.J. Spillman
SS: Donte Whitner, Trenton Robinson, Darcel McBath

PR: Ted Ginn Jr., Kyle Williams, LaMichael James
KOR: Kyle Williams, Ted Ginn Jr., Kendall Hunter
P: Andy Lee
K: David Akers
H: Andy Lee
LS: Brian Jennings