clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

49ers Depth Chart: Updated for injuries, trolling purposes

We break down the 49ers latest depth chart, released following news of two season-ending injuries.

Ezra Shaw

The 49ers released their depth chart for Week 13 and Jim Harbaugh has taken the quarterback position to its logical conclusion. A day before Coach Harbaugh's tentative plans to announce the starter for Sunday, the 49ers depth chart lists their starting quarterback as Alex Smith OR Colin Kaepernick.

So there you have it. I think Coach Harbaugh should go the distance and when he makes an announcement, if he is asked why, he should just respond with "because". I get that Coach Harbaugh will "probably" release the name tomorrow, but that doesn't make it any more amusing. Twitter has blown up with troll jokes at this point. But much like honey badger Coach Harbaugh embraced last year, Jim Harbaugh don't give a [site decorum].

The rest of the depth chart is updated in part to reflect the injury news, but it is not complete yet. Kendall Hunter and Kyle Williams are both still listed on the special teams roster, but not at running back or wide receiver. Perrish Cox has indicated he is ready if the opportunity is there. Matt Maiocco made a good point (lost in the Twitter shuffle at this point) that Coach Harbaugh had indicated LaMichael James was still a work in progress (my words not his) as a punt returner. It sounds like he could get some kick return work if needed. Ted Ginn remains the primary return man, but if his wrist injury is significant (remains to be seen), the 49ers will have to figure out some kind of backup plan.

In the meantime, we wait until Wednesday for Jim Harbaugh to address the QB situation. He said he would "probably" release it on Wednesday, so let's hope he actually does. Fingers crossed.

WR: Michael Crabtree, A.J. Jenkins
WR: Randy Moss, Mario Manningham, Ted Ginn Jr.
LT: Joe Staley
LG: Mike Iupati, Joe Looney
C: Jonathan Goodwin, Daniel Kilgore
RG: Alex Boone, Leonard Davis
RT: Anthony Davis
TE: Vernon Davis, Delanie Walker, Demarcus Dobbs, Garrett Celek
FB: Bruce Miller, Anthony Dixon, Will Tukuafu
RB: Frank Gore, Brandon Jacobs, LaMichael James, Jewel Hampton
QB: Alex Smith -OR- Colin Kaepernick, Scott Tolzien

LDT: Ray McDonald, Ricky Jean Francois
NT: Isaac Sopoaga, Will Tukuafu, Ian Williams
RDT: Justin Smith, Demarcus Dobbs
OLB: Ahmad Brooks, Clark Haggans
ILB: NaVorro Bowman, Larry Grant
ILB: Patrick Willis, Tavares Gooden
OLB: Aldon Smith, Clark Haggans
LCB: Carlos Rogers, Perrish Cox, Tramaine Brock
RCB: Tarell Brown, Chris Culliver
FS: Dashon Goldson, C.J. Spillman
SS: Donte Whitner, Trenton Robinson, Darcel McBath

PR: Ted Ginn Jr., Kyle Williams, LaMichael James
KOR: Kyle Williams, Ted Ginn Jr., Kendall Hunter
P: Andy Lee
K: David Akers
H: Andy Lee
LS: Brian Jennings