clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 NFL Hall Of Fame Class: Eddie DeBartolo, Charles Haley Not Elected To Hall Of Fame

The Pro Football Hall of Fame will announce their 2012 class of enshrinees today, but they started by announcing the cutdown from 15 individuals to ten. Unfortunately, former owner Eddie DeBartolo was not included in this initial breakdown and will have to wait at least one more year to get his spot in Canton.

The HOF then broke down the five finalists before announcing the 2012 class. Former 49ers and Cowboys defensive end/linebacker Charles Haley made the cutdown from 15 to 10, but unfortunately came up short in the cutdown from 10 to 5. Although he likely would enter the Hall as a Cowboy, Haley had a huge impact on some great 49ers teams.

The most "prominent" ex-49er to make the Hall of Fame is defensive end Chris Doleman. He spent three seasons with the 49ers towards the end of his career. So, I guess a 49ers congratulations to Doleman, even though he is most recognized for his Minnesota Vikings days. The 2012 class includes Jack Butler, Dermontti Dawson, Chris Doleman Cortez Kennedy, Curtis Martin and Willie Roaf.

Bill Parcells and Eddie DeBartolo will both do battle again next year for a chance to get in as non-players. It makes things a little more difficult as the HOF does not enshrine a lot of non-players together. Best of luck to Mr. DeBartolo and Charles Haley next year.