clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

49ers Depth Chart Update: What's Up With The Defensive Line?

The 49ers released their latest depth chart, and there really aren't any changes of significance. The most notable is Tony Jerod-Eddie moving from left defensive end (LDT as the 49ers refer to it), over to nose tackle behind Isaac Sopoaga and Ian Williams.

The defensive line is going to be an interesting one as it relates to those backups. Last year the team carried Demarcus Dobbs, Ian Williams and Will Tukuafu into the regular season, eventually losing Tukuafu to injured reserve. Those three are back this year, and one has to wonder if all three will make the roster once again. I had a brief chat on Twitter with @grantmp1 and in our discussion, it seemed like Tukuafu could prove to be the odd man out.

As it currently stands, Ricky Jean Francois is the primary backup across the defensive line. However, Demarcus Dobbs would seem to be working his way into a more prominent role. This past weekend, the 49ers used him in Aldon Smith's nickel defensive end role. That happened in part because of Smith's absence, but I have to think the team will look for more ways to work Dobbs' athleticism into their defensive front. Does that potentially cost Will Tukuafu his job?

Head after the jump to review the new depth chart to compare it with the first depth chart and second depth chart.

WR: Michael Crabtree, Kyle Williams, A.J. Jenkins, Joe Hastings, Nathan Palmer, Chris Owusu
WR: Ted Ginn Jr. -or- Randy Moss -or- Mario Manningham, Brett Swain, Brian Tyms, Ben Hannula
LT: Joe Staley, Mike Person, Al Netter
LG: Mike Iupati, Joe Looney
C: Jonathan Goodwin, Daniel Kilgore, Chase Beeler, Jason Slowey
RG: Alex Boone, Leonard Davis, Derek Hall
RT: Anthony Davis, Kenny Wiggins
TE: Vernon Davis, Delanie Walker, Konrad Reuland, Demarcus Dobbs, Garrett Celek, Kyle Nelson, Joe Sawyer
FB: Bruce Miller, Anthony Dixon, Cameron Bell
RB: Frank Gore, Kendall Hunter, Brandon Jacobs, LaMichael James, Rock Cartwright
QB: Alex Smith, Colin Kaepernick, Josh Johnson, Scott Tolzien

LDT: Ray McDonald, Ricky Jean Francois, Patrick Butrym
NT: Isaac Sopoaga, Ian Williams, Tony Jerod-Eddie
RDT: Justin Smith, Will Tukuafu Matthew Masifilo
OLB: Ahmad Brooks, Parys Haralson, Eric Bakhtiari, Cam Johnson, Ikaika Alama-Francis
ILB: NaVorro Bowman, Larry Grant, Joe Holland
ILB: Patrick Willis, Tavares Gooden, Michael Wilhoite
OLB: Aldon Smith, Parys Haralson, Kourtnei Brown, Kenny Rowe
LCB: Carlos Rogers, Tramaine Brock, Perrish Cox
RCB: Tarell Brown, Chris Culliver, Anthony Mosley, Deante Purvis
FS: Dashon Goldson, C.J. Spillman, Cory Nelms, Colin Jones
SS: Donte Whitner, Trenton Robinson, Darcel McBath, Michael Thomas

PR: Ted Ginn Jr., Kyle Williams, LaMichael James
KOR: Ted Ginn Jr., Kendall Hunter, LaMichael James
P: Andy Lee
K: David Akers, Giorgio Tavecchio
H: Andy Lee
LS: Brian Jennings, Kyle Nelson

PUP: LB Darius Fleming
Non-Football Injury List: RB Jewel Hampton