clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

49ers Roster Cuts: Team Cuts Down To 53

The San Francisco 49ers made their Friday cuts and are now down to the 53-man requirement. There is always the potential for more moves in the coming days, but for now, we have a 53-man roster to pore over this weekend. The 49ers traded Colin Jones for an undisclosed draft pick and released 21 players.

Head after the jump for a full list of the players released.

LB Ikaika Alama-Francis
LB Eric Bakhtiari
RB Rock Cartwright
OT Derek Hall
LB Joe Holland
DT Tony Jerod-Eddie
LB Cam Johnson
QB Josh Johnson
DT Matt Masifilo
CB Anthony Mosley
TE Kyle Nelson
OT Al Netter
WR Chris Owusu
WR Nathan Palmer
OL Mike Person
TE Konrad Reuland
LB Kenny Rowe
WR Brett Swain
S Michael Thomas
OL Kenny Wiggins
LB Michael Wilhoite

There aren't any shocking releases, but there are a few modest surprises both in the release list and the current 53-man roster. The biggest surprise is probably TE Garrett Celek securing the third tight end role. Konrad Reuland and Demarcus Dobbs got all the talk, and Celek just worked away and earned a roster spot.

As I previously mentioned, this is not necessarily the 53-man roster we will see a week from Sunday, or even on Monday. The 49ers will scour the waiver wire for players and it is entirely possible they will claim somebody by the time waivers runs at 9am PT tomorrow morning.

Here is the last depth chart the team released, updated by me to reflect the cuts. This is not necessarily how the 49ers now view the depth chart.

WR: Michael Crabtree, Kyle Williams, A.J. Jenkins
WR: Ted Ginn Jr. -or- Randy Moss -or- Mario Manningham
LT: Joe Staley
LG: Mike Iupati, Joe Looney
C: Jonathan Goodwin, Daniel Kilgore
RG: Alex Boone, Leonard Davis
RT: Anthony Davis
TE: Vernon Davis, Delanie Walker, Demarcus Dobbs, Garrett Celek
FB: Bruce Miller, Anthony Dixon
RB: Frank Gore, Kendall Hunter, Brandon Jacobs, LaMichael James
QB: Alex Smith, Colin Kaepernick, Scott Tolzien

LDT: Ray McDonald, Ricky Jean Francois, Demarcus Dobbs
NT: Isaac Sopoaga, Ian Williams
RDT: Justin Smith, Will Tukuafu
OLB: Ahmad Brooks, Parys Haralson
ILB: NaVorro Bowman, Larry Grant,
ILB: Patrick Willis, Tavares Gooden
OLB: Aldon Smith, Parys Haralson
LCB: Carlos Rogers, Tramaine Brock, Perrish Cox
RCB: Tarell Brown, Chris Culliver
FS: Dashon Goldson, C.J. Spillman
SS: Donte Whitner, Trenton Robinson, Darcel McBath

PR: Ted Ginn Jr., Kyle Williams, LaMichael James
KOR: Ted Ginn Jr., Kendall Hunter, LaMichael James
P: Andy Lee
K: David Akers
H: Andy Lee
LS: Brian Jennings

PUP: LB Darius Fleming
Non-Football Injury List: RB Jewel Hampton