clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

49ers Depth Chart 2012 Released

The San Francisco 49ers sent out their first game release for this Friday's matchup against the Minnesota Vikings, which means we get to check out the first depth chart of the new season. A preseason depth chart doesn't tell us everything we need to know, but it's a step in the right direction and allows us to at least begin to infer what kind of positional groupings we'll see during Friday's matchup.

I've posted the depth chart after the jump, and while there aren't any shockers, there are some interesting designations. Arguably the most notable is Tramaine Brock listed as the backup to Carlos Rogers, one spot ahead of Perrish Cox. Defensive coordinator Vic Fangio indicated Brock was working exclusively as an outside cornerback, while Cox has been getting a lot of work inside as a nickel back.

At wide receiver, the 49ers follow the Harbaugh mantra about having an excess of "number one receivers." They have Michael Crabtree listed as the number one receiver on one side, and then have three receivers listed as number one on the other side with an "or" designation. Also, rookies Nathan Palmer and Chris Owusu are currently listed behind Joe Hastings and Brett Swain, respectively, but that would seem to be an initial listing that will change in short order.

Any other particularly big surprises for you?

WR: Michael Crabtree, Kyle Williams, A.J. Jenkins, Joe Hastings, Nathan Palmer, Bryan Tyms
WR: Randy Moss -or- Mario Manningham -or- Ted Ginn Jr., Brett Swain, Chris Owusu, Ben Hannula
LT: Joe Staley, Alex Boone, Derek Hall, Kenny Wiggins
LG: Mike Iupati, Daniel Kilgore, Joe Looney, Garret Chisholm
C: Jonathan Goodwin, Daniel Kilgore, Chase Beeler, Jason Slowery
RG: Alex Boone, Leonard Davis, Mike Person, Al Netter
RT: Anthony Davis, Mike Person, Derek Hall, Kenny Wiggins
TE: Vernon Davis, Delanie Walker, Nate Byham, Konrad Reuland, Garrett Celek, Kyle Nelson
FB: Bruce Miller, Anthony Dixon, Cameron Bell
RB: Frank Gore, Kendall Hunter, Brandon Jacobs, LaMichael James, Rock Cartwright
QB: Alex Smith, Colin Kaepernick, Josh Johnson, Scott Tolzien

LDT: Ray McDonald, Demarcus Dobbs, Tony Jerod-Eddie, Patrick Butrym
NT: Isaac Sopoaga, Ricky Jean Francois, Ian Williams
RDT: Justin Smith, Will Tukuafu Matthew Masifilo
OLB: Ahmad Brooks, Parys Haralson, Cam Johnson, Eric Bakhtiari
ILB: NaVorro Bowman, Larry Grant, Joe Holland
ILB: Patrick Willis, Tavares Gooden, Michael Wilhoite
OLB: Aldon Smith, Parys Haralson, Kourtnei Brown
LCB: Carlos Rogers, Tramaine Brock, Perrish Cox, Curtis Holcomb
RCB: Tarell Brown, Chris Culliver, Anthony Mosley, Deante Purvis
FS: Dashon Goldson, C.J. Spillman, Cory Nelms, Colin Jones, Mark LeGree
SS: Donte Whitner, Trenton Robinson, Darcel McBath, Michael Thomas

PR: Ted Ginn Jr., Kyle Williams, LaMichael James
KOR: Ted Ginn Jr., Kendall Hunter, LaMichael James
P: Andy Lee
K: Davis Akers, Giorgio Tavecchio
H: Andy Lee
LS: Brian Jennings, Kyle Nelson

PUP: LB Darius Fleming
Non-Football Injury List: RB Jewel Hampton