clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

49ers Depth Chart: One Year Ago

Monday evening, the 49ers released their first depth chart of the 2012 season for mass consumption. The first depth chart of training camp has only so much value given position battles, injuries and roster cuts. We have a fairly good idea of most of the roster, but there is a solid group of guys that are on the bubble at this point. Accordingly, we can take some of the depth chart with a grain of salt.

How much salt, exactly? Well, I thought we'd take a look back at the first depth chart of last year's training camp. The 49ers had made numerous changes on defense, so it was not a simple task sorting through who slotted in where. In looking at last year's depth chart (posted after the jump), most of it was settled, but there were some notable distinctions.

Adam Snyder was listed as the number one center ahead of Jonathan Goodwin. Snyder had spent much of the summer Camp Alex workouts playing the center position. The 49ers added Goodwin with the general belief that he would be starting, but the initial depth chart did not reflect that.

Michael Crabtree was not listed as wide receiver because he was injured at that point. Instead, Ted Ginn Jr. and Joshua Morgan were listed as starting wide receivers, with Braylon Edwards and Kyle Williams backing up Ginn and Lance Long and Ronald Johnson backing up Morgan.

On defense, Shawntae Spencer was the starting corner opposite Carlos Rogers, and Reggie Smith was the starting free safety. The 49ers hadn't re-signed Dashon Goldson at this point, so Smith made sense. Spencer had been at the top of the depth chart previously, so again, with no offseason workouts prior to camp, it made sense that the new coaching staff would have Spencer ahead of Brown.

Head after the jump to check out last year's first depth chart.

QB -- Alex Smith, Colin Kaepernick, Jeremiah Masoli, McLeod Bethel-Thompson.
RB -- Frank Gore, Anthony Dixon, Kendall Hunter, Xavier Omon, Seth Smith.
FB -- Moran Norris, Bruce Miller, Jack Corcoran.
WR -- Ted Ginn, Braylon Edwards, Kyle Williams, Kevin Jurovich, Chris Hogan.
WR -- Josh Morgan, Lance Long, Ronald Johnson, Joe Hastings, Tyler Beiler.
TE -- Vernon Davis, Delanie Walker, Konrad Reuland, Colin Cloherty, Chris Blohm.
LT -- Joe Staley, Alex Boone, Donovan Edwards.
LG -- Mike Iupati, Daniel Kilgore, Nick Howell.
C -- Adam Snyder, Jonathan Goodwin, Chase Beeler.
RG -- Chilo Rachal, Tony Wragge, Derek Hall.
RT -- Anthony Davis, Mike Person, Kenny Wiggins.

LDE -- Ray McDonald, Demarcus Dobbs, Ian Williams.
NT -- Isaac Sopoaga, Ricky Jean Francois, Sealver Siliga.
RDE -- Justin Smith, Will Tukuafu, Brian Bulcke.
LOLB -- Ahmad Brooks, Antwan Applewhite, Monte Simmons.
ILB -- NaVorro Bowman, Larry Grant, Scott McKillop, Alex Joseph.
ILB -- Patrick Willis, Keaton Kristick, Blake Costanzo.
ROLB -- Parys Haralson, Aldon Smith, Thaddeus Gibson, Kenny Rowe.
LCB -- Carlos Rogers, Chris Culliver, Phillip Adams, Cory Nelms
RCB -- Shawntae Spencer, Tarell Brown, Tramaine Brock, Phillip Davis.
FS -- Reggie Smith, Madieu Williams, Chris Maragos, Curtis Taylor.
SS -- Donte Whitner, C.J. Spillman, Taylor Mays, Anthony West, Colin Jones.

Special teams
PR -- Ted Ginn, Kyle Williams, Ronald Johnson.
KOR -- Ted Ginn, Kendall Hunter, Chris Culliver.
P -- Andy Lee.
K -- David Akers, Fabrizio Scaccia.
H -- Andy Lee.
LS -- Brian Jennings.