clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pro football Hall of Fame: Eddie DeBartolo, Charles Haley don't make class of 2013

The only player with 49ers ties to be inducted on Saturday was Larry Allen, who played the final two seasons of his career in San Francisco.


The San Francisco 49ers were well represented when the initial 2013 Pro Football Hall of Fame candidates were announced. However among former 49ers, only Larry Allen made the cut as the former offensive lineman was one of seven inductees into Canton.

Other than Allen, Warren Sapp, Curley Culp, Dave Robinson, Bill Parcells, Jonathan Ogden and Cris Carter were inducted. Which means former 49ers owner Eddie DeBartolo and longtime defensive end Charles Haley, both finalists, didn't make the cut. DeBartolo was one of the first five cuts as the group of finalists were whittled from 15 to 10. Haley was in the next round of five cuts.

Allen only played his final two seasons with the 49ers after playing his first 11 with the Cowboys. While playing for the Niners, he started at left guard for 11 games in '06 and all 16 games in '07 and was voted into the Pro Bowl both years, though he was an alternate in '07. Through his career he was an 11-time Pro Bowler, a seven-time All-Pro, was named to the 1990s All-Decade Team as well as the 2000s All-Decade Team and was a member of the Cowboys team that won Super Bowl XXX.