clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

San Francisco 49ers new depth chart features minor adjustments

The 49ers released their third depth chart of the 2013 NFL preseason. The 49ers face the Minnesota Vikings on Sunday, and they have only made some modest changes to the depth chart. The removal of A.J. Jenkin is the most significant. You can track all the depth charts in our story stream.

Kyle Terada-USA TODAY Sports

Monday afternoon, not too long after announcing the Jon Baldwin trade, the San Francisco 49ers released their latest depth chart. This new depth chart reflected the departure of A.J. Jenkins, but it did not include placement for Baldwin. Marlon Moore was bumped up from third string behind Kyle Williams, to second string behind Anquan Boldin. Other than that there really weren't notable changes.

I've been trying to figure out where Baldwin will fit into the 49ers offense, particularly in this first preseason game. Greg Roman wouldn't commit to anything specific on what they would do with him, but I have to imagine he gets some kind of playing time this Sunday. Austin Collie and Lavelle Hawkins have been worked in through fourth quarter snaps. The 49ers still need to work them further into the rotation, so does Baldwin get slotted in down near the end? It's tough to tell.

This marks the final game before the first set of roster cuts early next week. The bottom of the roster will be scrambling to show something to at least buy one more preseason game, and potentially a practice squad spot.

Here is the 49ers Week 3 depth chart.


QB: Colin Kaepernick, Colt McCoy, Scott Tolzien, B.J. Daniels
LT: Joe Staley, Carter Bykowski
LG: Mike Iupati, Joe Looney, Al Netter
C: Jonathan Goodwin, Daniel Kilgore
RG: Alex Boone, Adam Snyder, Wayne Tribue
RT: Anthony Davis, Kenny Wiggins, Patrick Omameh
RB: Frank Gore, LaMichael James, Kendall Hunter, Anthony Dixon, Jewel Hampton, D.J. Harper
FB: Bruce Miller, Anthony Dixon, Jason Schepler
TE: Vernon Davis, Vance McDonald, Garrett Celek, MarQueis Gray
WR: Anquan Boldin, Marlon Moore, Ricardo Lockette, Austin Collie, Lavelle Hawkins
WR: Kyle Williams, Chad Hall, Kassim Osgood, Quinton Patton, Chuck Jacobs


RDT: Justin Smith, Will Tukuafu, Tony Jerod-Eddie
NT: Ian Williams, Glenn Dorsey, Lamar Divens, Mike Purcell
LDT: Ray McDonald, Demarcus Dobbs, Lawrence Okoye
ILB: Patrick Willis, Michael Wilhoite, Nick Moody
ILB: NaVorro Bowman, Nate Stupar, Travis Johnson
OLB: Aldon Smith, Parys Haralson, Corey Lemonier
OLB: Ahmad Brooks, Cam Johnson, Dan Skuta
LCB: Carlos Rogers, Chris Culliver, Tramaine Brock, Marcus Cooper
RCB: Tarell Brown, Nnamdi Asomugha, Perrish Cox, Darryl Morris
SS: Donte Whitner, Craig Dahl, Darcel McBath, Raymond Ventrone
FS: C.J. Spillman, Eric Reid, Trenton Robinson, Michael Thomas

Special teams:

Kicker: Phil Dawson, Colton Schmidt
Punter: Andy Lee, Colton Schmidt
LS: Brian Jennings, Kevin McDermott
PR: LaMichael James, Kyle Williams, Chad Hall, Perrish Cox
KR: LaMichael James, Kyle Williams, Chad Hall, Perrish Cox