clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

49ers Roster Cuts: Team gets down to 53-man roster

The 49ers have cut down to their 53-man roster. We take a look at the cuts, and what is next. New to Niners Nation? Sign up here!

John David Mercer-USA TODAY Sports

The San Francisco 49ers have made their roster cuts official, and the 53-man roster is set...for now. All players with less than four years of accrued service time must go through waivers. Teams have until 9 a.m. PT Sunday to place claims, and the waiver order is based on the draft. Once players clear waivers, they become free agents. At that point, the 49ers can begin signing players to their eight man practice squad.

First up, the list of players released today. Best of luck to them in whatever they do, whether it be continuing to pursue their NFL dream, or moving on.

Roster Cuts
OT Carter Bykowski
WR Austin Collie
CB Marcus Cooper
TE MarQueis Gray
WR Chad Hall
RB Jewel Hampton
WR Lavelle Hawkins
LB Joe Holland
WR Chuck Jacobs
LS Brian Jennings
LB Travis Johnson
CB Darryl Morris
OT Patrick Omameh
WR Kassim Osgood
NT Mike Purcell
S Trenton Robinson
FB Jason Schepler
DB Michael Thomas
OG Wayne Tribue
QB Seneca Wallace
OT Kenny Wiggins

Here is your 2013 53-man roster. It is worth noting that this roster will change by the end of the year, and very well could change as soon as tomorrow. The 49ers are hoping to get back guys like Mario Manningham and Michael Crabtree, and possibly Tank Carradine and Quinton Dial. They will need to find space for them.

Additionally, the 49ers could decide they like a player or two on waivers, and place a claim. This 53-man roster could change as soon as tomorrow if that is the case. For now though, we wait.

QB (3): Colin Kaepernick, Colt McCoy, B.J. Daniels
RB (3): Frank Gore, Kendall Hunter, LaMichael James
FB (2): Bruce Miller, Anthony Dixon
WR (5): Anquan Boldin, Kyle Williams, Quinton Patton, Marlon Moore, Jon Baldwin
TE (3): Vernon Davis, Vance McDonald, Garrett Celek
OT (3): Joe Staley, Anthony Davis, Adam Snyder
OG (3): Mike Iupati, Alex Boone, Joe Looney
C (2): Jonathan Goodwin, Daniel Kilgore

DE (3): Justin Smith, Ray McDonald, Tony Jerod-Eddie
NT (3): Ian Williams, Glenn Dorsey, Will Tukuafu
OLB (5): Ahmad Brooks, Aldon Smith, Corey Lemonier, Dan Skuta, Cam Johnson
ILB (5): Patrick Willis, NaVorro Bowman, Michael Wilhoite, Nick Moody, LB Nate Stupar
FS (2): Eric Reid, Craig Dahl
SS (3): Donte Whitner, C.J. Spillman, Raymond Ventrone
CB (5): Carlos Rogers, Tarell Brown, Nnamdi Asomugha, Tramaine Brock, Perrish Cox

K (1): Phil Dawson
P (1): Andy Lee
LOS (1): Kevin McDermott

NFI: Eric Wright, Cornellius Carradine, Quinton Dial, Marcus Lattimore, Luke Marquardt

PUP: Mario Manningham, Michael Crabtree

Week 1 Suspension: Demarcus Dobbs

Players currently on roster: 53
QB Colin Kaepernick
QB Colt McCoy
QB B.J. Daniels
QB Seneca Wallace
QB Scott Tolzien

RB Frank Gore
RB Kendall Hunter
RB LaMichael James
RB Jewel Hampton
RB Marcus Lattimore
RB D.J. Harper

FB Bruce Miller
FB Anthony Dixon
FB Jason Schepler

WR Anquan Boldin
WR Marlon Moore
WR Quinton Patton
WR Kyle Williams
WR Jon Baldwin
WR Austin Collie
WR Lavelle Hawkins
WR Chad Hall
WR Kassim Osgood
WR Chuck Jacobs
WR Michael Crabtree
WR Mario Manningham
TE Vernon Davis
TE Vance McDonald
TE Garrett Celek
TE MarQueis Gray

OT Joe Staley
OT Anthony Davis
OT Carter Bykowski
OT Kenny Wiggins
OT Patrick Omameh
OT Luke Marquardt

OG Alex Boone
OG Mike Iupati
OG Adam Snyder
OG Joe Looney
OG Wayne Tribue
OG Al Netter

C Jonathan Goodwin
C Daniel Kilgore
DL Justin Smith
DL Ray McDonald
DL Ian Williams
DL Glenn Dorsey
DL Will Tukuafu
DL Cornellius Carradine
DL Quinton Dial
DL Demarcus Dobbs (suspended)
DL Tony Jerod-Eddie
DL Lawrence Okoye
DL Lamar Divens
DL Mike Purcell

LB Patrick Willis
LB NaVorro Bowman
LB Michael Wilhoite
LB Nick Moody
LB Nate Stupar
LB Travis Johnson
LB Aldon Smith
LB Ahmad Brooks
LB Parys Haralson
LB Corey Lemonier
LB Dan Skuta
LB Cam Johnson
LB Joe Holland
CB Carlos Rogers
CB Tarell Brown
CB Chris Culliver
CB Tramaine Brock
CB Nnamdi Asomugha
CB Perrish Cox
CB Marcus Cooper
CB Darryl Morris
CB Eric Wright

S Donte Whitner
S Craig Dahl
S Eric Reid
S C.J. Spillman
S Trenton Robinson
S Raymond Ventrone
S Michael Thomas

K Phil Dawson

P Andy Lee
P Colton Schmidt

LS Brian Jennings
LS Kevin McDermott