clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

49ers waive WR Charly Martin, re-sign P Colton Schmidt

The 49ers made a roster move on Tuesday, waiving WR Charly Martin and signing P Colton Schmidt. We take a look at the impact on the depth chart.

John David Mercer-USA TODAY Sports

The San Francisco 49ers made a minor roster move on Tuesday, waiving wide receiver Charly Martin and re-signing punter Colton Schmidt. The 49ers had previously waived Schmidt when they signed WRs Austin Collie and Lavelle Hawkins.

Martin had emerged as one of Eric Branch's bottom of the roster player of interest. Over the last week he had some good moments, but according to Branch, he was "relatively quiet" on Monday. The 49ers have an abundance of wide receivers, having added Collie and Hawkins when injuries were slowing down several members of the receiver corps. Yesterday, the 49ers had all 12 receivers available, which limited the snaps for some of them. It's great to have depth, but in the preseason there is such a thing as too much depth.

Schmidt will serve as a camp leg, who can help keep Andy Lee and Phil Dawson relatively rested. Dawson will want to get some work in at Candlestick in the preseason to start getting used to the swirling winds. Andy Lee might get some work in as well, but given his experience, I don't expect to see him playing more than a half or so in a given game.

Here is an updated 49ers depth chart following these two transactions:


QB: Colin Kaepernick, Colt McCoy, Scott Tolzien, B.J. Daniels
LT: Joe Staley, Carter Bykowski
LG: Mike Iupati, Joe Looney, Al Netter
C: Jonathan Goodwin, Daniel Kilgore
RG: Alex Boone, Adam Snyder
RT: Anthony Davis, Kenny Wiggins, Patrick Omameh
RB: Frank Gore, LaMichael James, Anthony Dixon, Jewel Hampton, D.J. Harper
FB: Bruce Miller, Anthony Dixon, Jason Schepler
TE: Vernon Davis, Vance McDonald, Garrett Celek, MarQueis Gray
WR: Anquan Boldin, A.J. Jenkins, Ricardo Lockette, Austin Collie, Lavelle Hawkins
WR: Kyle Williams, Chad Hall, Kassim Osgood, Chuck Jacobs, Marlon Moore, Quinton Patton


RDT: Justin Smith, Will Tukuafu, Tony Jerod-Eddie
NT: Ian Williams, Glenn Dorsey, Lamar Divens, Mike Purcell
LDT: Ray McDonald, Demarcus Dobbs, Lawrence Okoye
ILB: Patrick Willis, Michael Wilhoite, Nick Moody
ILB: NaVorro Bowman, Nate Stupar, Travis Johnson
OLB: Aldon Smith, Parys Haralson, Corey Lemonier
OLB: Ahmad Brooks, Cam Johnson, Dan Skuta
LCB: Carlos Rogers, Chris Culliver, Tramaine Brock, Marcus Cooper, Lowell Rose
RCB: Tarell Brown, Nnamdi Asomugha, Perrish Cox, Darryl Morris
SS: Donte Whitner, Craig Dahl, Darcel McBath, Raymond Ventrone
FS: C.J. Spillman, Eric Reid, Trenton Robinson, Michael Thomas

Special teams:

Kicker: Phil Dawson
Punter: Andy Lee, Colton Schmidst
LS: Brian Jennings, Kevin McDermott
PR: LaMichael James, Kyle Williams, Chad Hall, Perrish Cox
KR: LaMichael James, Kyle Williams, Chad Hall, Perrish Cox