clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

49ers team awards: Anquan Boldin, Justin Smith, Alex Boone, NaVorro Bowman among winners

The 49ers announced their team awards on Friday. We break down the notable names. New to Niners Nation? Sign up here and join the discussion!

Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

The San Francisco 49ers are getting ready for their Wild Card matchup with the Green Bay Packers, but in the meantime, there is still some regular season business to attend to. The 49ers announced their 2013 team awards on Friday, and plenty of deserving players are worth a mention. You can read about each of the awards, along with past winners HERE.

Len Eshmont Award - NaVorro Bowman
Bill Walsh Award - Anquan Boldin
Bob McKittrick Award - Alex Boone
Hazeltine Iron Man Award - Justin Smith
Thomas Herrion Memorial Award - Eric Reid
Blue Collar Players of the Year - Glenn Dorsey, Frank Gore, Bubba Ventrone

Bowman had a great case for the Bill Walsh Award for team MVP, but the Len Eshmont Award is considered "the most prestigious honor" the 49ers hand out. It is given each year to the player who best exemplifies the "inspirational and courageous play" of Len Eshmont. It was established in 1957 after Eshmont passed away. It is voted on exclusively by the players.

The Bill Walsh Award was established in 2004, and is voted on exclusively by the coaches. My guess is they viewed what Boldin meant to this offense while Michael Crabtree was out, and what he meant for quarterback Colin Kaepernick. It wasn't pretty out times for the first three months of the season, but the offense was able to keep its head above water and get the 49ers to a 7-4 record when Crabtree returned. You could make an argument for Vernon Davis at times, but Q became Kap's security blanket.

Congrats to all the winners!