clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

49ers announced 7 undrafted free agent signings, 3 releases

The San Francisco 49ers made ten roster moves official on Monday, signing seven undrafted free agents, and releasing three current players.

Pat Lovell-USA TODAY Sports

The San Francisco 49ers made ten roster moves official Monday afternoon. The team announced the seven reported free agent signings, and also announced the three corresponding waiver moves that get the team to the 90-man roster limit.

The team announced they have signed USC linebacker Morgan Breslin, Miami (FL) tight end Asante Cleveland, New Mexico center Dillon Farrell, Southern Illinois quarterback Kory Faulkner, Michigan State offensive lineman Fouimalo Fonoti, Catawba College safety James McCray, and Stanford linebacker Shayne Skov.

The 49ers left the draft with 86 players on their roster. There is a 90-man roster limit, and so, in signing seven undrafted free agents, the team had to release three other players. The team announced they have waived linebacker Darius Fleming, wide receiver DeMarco Sampson and cornerback Dax Swanson.

Fleming was part of a 2012 draft class that is as bad as we've seen in some time. LaMichael James and Joe Looney remain, so it's not a complete loss, but it's not pretty. Fleming suffered torn ACLs each of the last two years, and simply could not stay on the field to make an impact. Sampson and Swanson had signed reserve/future contracts earlier this year, and Swanson spent the prior two months on the 49ers practice squad.

Players currently on roster: 90
QB Colin Kaepernick
QB Blaine Gabbert
QB McLeod Bethel-Thompson
QB Kory Faulkner

RB Frank Gore
RB Kendall Hunter
RB LaMichael James
RB Jewel Hampton
RB Marcus Lattimore
RB Carlos Hyde

FB Bruce Miller
FB Will Tukuafu
FB Trey Millard

WR Michael Crabtree
WR Anquan Boldin
WR Quinton Patton
WR Jon Baldwin
WR Kassim Osgood
WR Chuck Jacobs
WR David Reed
WR Devon Wylie
WR Brandon Lloyd
WR Stevie Johnson
WR Bruce Ellington

TE Vernon Davis
TE Vance McDonald
TE Garrett Celek
TE Derek Carrier
TE Asante Cleveland

OT Joe Staley
OT Anthony Davis
OT Carter Bykowski
OT Jonathan Martin
OT Luke Marquardt

OG Alex Boone
OG Mike Iupati
OG Adam Snyder
OG Joe Looney
OG Al Netter
OG Ryan Seymour
OG Brandon Thomas
OG Fouimalo Fonoti

C Daniel Kilgore
Marcus Martin
C Dillon Farrell

DL Justin Smith
DL Ray McDonald
DL Ian Williams
DL Glenn Dorsey
DL Tank Carradine
DL Quinton Dial
DL Demarcus Dobbs
DL Tony Jerod-Eddie
DL Lawrence Okoye
DL Mike Purcell
DL Christian Tupou
DL Kaleb Ramsey

ILB Patrick Willis
ILB NaVorro Bowman
ILB Michael Wilhoite
ILB Nick Moody
ILB Chris Borland
ILB Shayne Skov

OLB Aldon Smith
OLB Ahmad Brooks
OLB Corey Lemonier
OLB Dan Skuta
OLB Aaron Lynch
OLB Morgan Breslin

CB Tramaine Brock
CB Chris Culliver
CB Perrish Cox
CB Darryl Morris
CB Eric Wright
CB Chris Cook
DB Jimmie Ward
DB Dontae Johnson
CB Keith Reaser
CB Kenneth Acker

S Eric Reid
S Antoine Bethea
S Craig Dahl
S C.J. Spillman
S Raymond Ventrone
S D.J. Campbell
S James McCray

K Phil Dawson

P Andy Lee
P Colton Schmidt

LS Kevin McDermott