clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

49ers depth chart after first roster cuts of 2014

The San Francisco 49ers released a depth chart following the first roster cuts of the 2014 season. We take a look at some interesting tidbits from it.

Kyle Terada-USA TODAY Sports

The San Francisco 49ers PR department published the latest game book, which features the team's depth chart. This most recent edition comes after the 49ers cut down to 75 players. The depth chart is developed by the PR department, so it has to be taken with a grain of salt.

The depth chart does not tell us a whole lot of new information, but there is one interesting change from last time. The players cut on Monday were mostly players deep down the depth chart. Jewel Hampton was highest up the depth chart. However, in presenting this new depth chart, the 49ers made changes at the return position. The first depth chart featured Perrish Cox listed as No. 1 at kick returner and punt returner. Bruce Ellington was No. 2 at kick returner, while Carlos Hyde was No. 2 at punt returner. This was due to LaMichael James's dislocated elbow.

The new depth chart features Ellington as the No. 1 kick returner, LMJ as the No. 1 punt returner, and Perrish Cox as the backup for both. Could we see split duties once the regular season starts? Or do you think it ends up with LMJ handling both? My guess is the latter. In previous years the depth chart has listed random people at one of the return positions, even when that person did not partake in the role during games.

Given that this is from the PR department as opposed to the full coaching staff, is there anything that jumps out at you as probably not how things will shake out when the team heads into Week 1?


WR: Anquan Boldin, Stevie Johnson, Bruce Ellington, Lance Lewis
WR: Michael Crabtree, Brandon Lloyd, Quinton Patton, Kassim Osgood, L'Damian Washington
LT: Joe Staley, Carter Bykowski
LG: Mike Iupati, Al Netter
C: Daniel Kilgore, Marcus Martin, Dillon Farrell
RG: Joe Looney, Adam Snyder, Michael Philipp
RT: Anthony Davis, Jonathan Martin, Ryan Seymour
TE: Vernon Davis, Vance McDonald, Derek Carrier, Asante Cleveland
FB: Bruce Miller, Will Tukuafu
RB: Frank Gore, Carlos Hyde, LaMichael James, Alfonso Smith, Glenn Winston
QB: Colin Kaepernick, Blaine Gabbert, Josh Johnson


LDE: Ray McDonald, Tony Jerod-Eddie, Tank Carradine
NT: Ian Williams, Quinton Dial, Mike Purcell [Glenn Dorsey]
RDE: Justin Smith, Demarcus Dobbs, Lawrence Okoye
OLB: Ahmad Brooks, Corey Lemonier, Chase Thomas
ILB: Michael Wilhoite, Nick Moody
ILB: Patrick Willis, Chris Borland, Shayne Skov
OLB: Aldon Smith, Dan Skuta, Aaron Lynch
CB: Tramaine Brock, Chris Cook, Darryl Morris
CB: Chris Culliver, Perrish Cox, Dontae Johnson, Kenneth Acker
FS: Eric Reid, Jimmie Ward, C.J. Spillman, James McCray
SS: Antoine Bethea, Craig Dahl, Bubba Ventrone

Special teams

P: Andy Lee
K: Phil Dawson
PR: Bruce Ellington, Perrish Cox
KR: LaMichael James, Perrish Cox
LS: Kevin McDermott, Kyle Nelson