clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Cowboys depth chart vs. 49ers: Rolando McClain moves into starting lineup

The Dallas Cowboys will feature a host of new starters on defense. We take a look at their current depth chart.

Matthew Emmons-USA TODAY Sports

The San Francisco 49ers travel to face a Dallas Cowboys team that is viewed by most as all offense, no defense. Former Cowboys safety Darren Woodson spoke with Eric Branch, and he described the team as in disarray on defense, in line for another long season, and "like a cure-all for San Francisco." I try not to get too excited about the possibilities, but that is certainly interesting to consider.

The Cowboys will feature a mix of new players, with the most recent addition to the starting lineup being MLB Rolando McClain. Rod Marinelli confirmed earlier today that McClain would get the start. He joins a group that is without defensive end DeMarcus Lawrence, linebacker Sean Lee and cornerback Orlando Scandrick.

My biggest concern going up against this defense is the 49ers offensive line. The last three years it was not a notable concern, but for Week 1, there are several potential question marks. We don't know if Alex Boone or Anthony Davis will be in the lineup, which could mean three new starters in place. If it is going to happen against anybody, the Cowboys are probably higher on the list of teams I'd prefer.

Here is a look at the Cowboys depth chart, courtesy of It is likely a PR release similar to what the 49ers PR department


WR: Dez Bryant, Cole Beasley, Devin Street
TE: Gavin Escobar
LT: Tyrone Smith, Jermey Parnell, Darrion Weems
LG: Ronald Leary, Mackenzy Bernadeau
C: Travis Frederick, Mackenzy Bernadeau
RG: Zack Martin
RT: Doug Free, John Wetzel
TE: Jason Witten, James Hanna
WR: Terrance Williams, Dwayne Harris
RB: DeMarco Murray, Lance Dunbar, Joseph Randle, Tyler Clutts
QB: Tony Romo, Brandon Weeden, Dustin Vaughan


LDE: George Selvie, Tyrone Crawford
DT: Nick Hayden, Terrell McClain, Ken Bishop
DT: Henry Melton, Davon Coleman
RDE: Jeremy Mincey, DeMarcus Lawrence, Lavar Edwards
SLB: Kyle Wilber, Cameron Lawrence
MLB: Rolando McClain, Justin Durant
WLB: Bruce Carter, Anthony Hitchens
LCB: Brandon Carr, Sterling Moore
RCB: Morris Claiborne, Tyler Patmon, Jemea Thomas
FS: Barry Church, Ahmad Dixon
SS: J.J. Wilcox, Jeff Heath

Special Teams

P: Chris Jones
K: Dan Bailey
H: Chris Jones, Tony Romo
PR: Dwayne Harris, Cole Beasley
KR: Dwayne Harris, J.J. Wilcox, Cole Beasley
LS: L.P. Ladouceur