clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pro Football Hall of Fame announcement time, schedule: Will Charles Haley finally get his due?

The Pro Football Hall of Fame will announce the Class of 2015 Saturday afternoon. We take a look at the television info for when it will air, and why 49ers fans should watch. Maybe Charles Haley will finally get in!

Otto Greule Jr/Getty Images

The Super Bowl gets going tomorrow afternoon, but in the meantime, Saturday is a big day for legends of the NFL. The Pro Football Hall of Fame will sort through the finalists and vote on the Class of 2015. The inductees will be announced later today during the NFL Honors show.

The voters will cut down from the 15 finalists to 10 people, and the Class of 2015 will then be introduced tonight during the NFL Honors program. It's an odd set up because the NFL Honors program airs at 9 p.m. ET/PT on FOX, but it is taped earlier in the afternoon. I would think that means the inductees will be known earlier, but who really knows what will happen. I'll keep an eye on Twitter for more information, and get something posted. Last year, the announcement came at around 4 p.m. PT, so I suspect we'll see something similar.

For San Francisco 49ers fans, the big news will be whether or not former defensive end/outside linebacker Charles Haley gains entry to Canton. He was an absolute monster of a pass rusher, impacting the game time and again. He has five Super Bowl rings to his credit, and was a decisive presence for all five teams. His playing days were marked by erratic behavior, and I have a hunch some media have not voted for him because of his behavior. Of course, he was later diagnosed as being bi-polar, which would explain a lot of his actions. I once again hope this is the year he finally gets his due.

This year's class features some big names among the new candidates. Kurt Warner, Orlando Pace and Junior Seau are all first time finalists. Those three plus Haley join Jerome Bettis, Kevin Greene, Marvin Harrison, Will Shields, Morten Andersen, Tim Brown, Terrell Davis and John Lynch, among players. The other three finalists are coaches Don Coryell, Tony Dungy, Jimmy Johnson. Bill Polian and Ron Wolf were advanced to the finalists round as "contributors", but will be voted on separately, just on their own.