clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

49ers 2015 roster vs. training camp 2014

Here is a look at the 49ers current roster versus the roster they had heading into training camp a season ago.

Kyle Terada-USA TODAY Sports

The San Francisco 49ers roster took a hit on Monday when linebacker Chris Borland announced his retirement. That leaves the 49ers with 73 players on the roster. This includes guys like Reggie Bush, Erik Pears, Shareece Wright and Chris Cook, all of whom signed over the last few days.

As A Manimal suggested, there is some value in presenting a look at the 49ers current roster and comparing it to the team's roster at the start of training camp last year. I have placed them all in a table below. The 2014 version came from this final pre-training camp bubble watch article. Following that, the 49ers signed long snapper Kyle Nelson, and dealt with several injuries. That being said, this gives us a good handle on the 49ers roster last year as far as free agency, draft and UDFA additions.

The team's roster strategy could be plenty different this year, but there are some interesting aspects to the comparison right now. The team already has the same number of defensive linemen, cornerbacks, tight ends and offensive tackles as last year. The DL group could change with a Justin Smith retirement, but if he does not retire, it will be interesting to see how many more linemen they add.

2015 2014 2015 2014
QB Colin Kaepernick Colin Kaepernick DT Justin Smith Justin Smith
Blaine Gabbert Blaine Gabbert Glenn Dorsey Ray McDonald
Josh Johnson Tank Carradine Glenn Dorsey
McLeod Bethel-Thompson Ian Williams Tank Carradine
Kory Faulkner Quinton Dial Ian Williams
Darnell Dockett Kaleb Ramsey
RB Carlos Hyde Frank Gore Tony Jerod-Eddie Tony Jerod-Eddie
Kendall Hunter Kendall Hunter Lawrence Okoye Demarcus Dobbs
Reggie Bush Carlos Hyde Mike Purcell Quinton Dial
Kendall Gaskins Marcus Lattimore Kaleb Ramsey Lawrence Okoye
Jarryd Hayne LaMichael James Garrison Smith Mike Purcell
Jewel Hampton
OLB Ahmad Brooks Ahmad Brooks
FB Bruce Miller Bruce Miller Aldon Smith Aldon Smith
Trey Millard Trey Millard Corey Lemonier Corey Lemonier
Will Tukuafu Aaron Lynch Aaron Lynch
Chase Thomas Dan Skuta
WR Anquan Boldin Michael Crabtree Chase Thomas
Torrey Smith Anquan Boldin
Bruce Ellington Quinton Patton ILB NaVorro Bowman Patrick Willis
Quinton Patton Bruce Ellington Michael Wilhoite NaVorro Bowman
Trindon Holliday Stevie Johnson Nick Moody Michael Wilhoite
Chuck Jacobs Brandon Lloyd Shayne Skov Chris Borland
Lance Lewis Kassim Osgood Nick Moody
Jerome Simpson Jon Baldwin Blake Costanzo
Chuck Jacobs Shayne Skov
Devon Wylie
David Reed CB Tramaine Brock Tramaine Brock
Dontae Johnson Chris Culliver
TE Vernon Davis Vernon Davis Chris Cook Keith Reaser
Vance McDonald Vance McDonald Shareece Wright Chris Cook
Garrett Celek Garrett Celek Kenneth Acker Darryl Morris
Derek Carrier Derek Carrier Cameron Fuller Perrish Cox
Asante Cleveland Asante Cleveland Leon McFadden Dontae Johnson
Xavier Grimble Kevin Greene Keith Reaser Kenneth Acker
Marcus Cromartie
OT Joe Staley Joe Staley
Anthony Davis Anthony Davis S Eric Reid Eric Reid
Jonathan Martin Jonathan Martin Antoine Bethea Antoine Bethea
Chris Martin Carter Bykowski Craig Dahl Jimmie Ward
Fou Fonoti Fou Fonoti L.J. McCray C.J. Spillman
Jimmie Ward Craig Dahl
OG Alex Boone Mike Iupati Bubba Ventrone
Joe Looney Alex Boone D.J. Campbell
Brandon Thomas Brandon Thomas L.J. McCray
Erik Pears Joe Looney
Andrew Tiller Adam Snyder K Phil Dawson Phil Dawson
Ryan Seymour
Al Netter P Andy Lee Andy Lee
Colton Schmidt
C Marcus Martin Daniel Kilgore
Daniel Kilgore Marcus Martin LS Kyle Nelson Kevin McDermott
Dillon Farrell Dillon Farrell