clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

49ers sign LS Kyle Nelson to 4-year extension, TE Garrett Celek to 1-year deal, according to report

The San Francisco 49ers locked up two restricted free agents. They signed Kyle Nelson and Garrett Celek to new deals, as opposed to offering a restricted free agent tender.

Mitch Stringer-USA TODAY Sports

Apparently me going to Las Vegas gets restricted free agents signed! The San Francisco 49ers took care of more business Friday afternoon, as they signed long snapper Kyle Nelson and tight end Garrett Celek to new deals, according to ESPN's Adam Caplan. Both were restricted free agents, which meant the team could tender them at a right of refusal tender, original round tender, second round tender or first round tender. Nelson signed a 4-year deal, while Celek signed a 1-year deal.

These moves come the same day the team extended tenders to exclusive rights free agents Michael Wilhoite and Tony Jerod-Eddie. As ERFAs, WIlhoite and TJE had to essentially sign whatever contract the 49ers put in front of them. They likely are league minimum deals. If the 49ers decide to trade Wilhoite, this removes a potential impediment to the deal.

I'm a little surprised Nelson got four years on his extension. It is likely little guaranteed money, so the team could probably get out of it pretty easy down the road. Nelson had his ups and downs as a rookie. We'll see how much improvement he shows heading into his second year as the team's long snapper.

The Celek deal makes sense given his injury last year. He missed so much time due to a back problem, so my guess is the team signed him to a pretty low deal. It gives him a chance to work his way back and maybe earn a bigger deal this coming season.

The 49ers have not extended any of their unrestricted free agents as the negotiation period arrives on Saturday. Here is the full list of the 49ers UFAs:

QB Blaine Gabbert
QB Josh Johnson
RB Frank Gore
RB Alfonso Smith
RB Philip Tanner
WR Michael Crabtree
WR Brandon Lloyd
WR Kassim Osgood
OG Mike Iupati
OLB Dan Skuta
ILB Desmond Bishop
CB Chris Culliver
CB Perrish Cox
CB Chris Cook
SS Bubba Ventrone