clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Charles Haley to be inducted into San Francisco 49ers Hall of Fame

George Rose/Getty Images

The San Francisco 49ers have some big plans for their 2015 regular season opener against the Minnesota Vikings. The game will air on Monday Night Football, and at halftime the team will recognize Charles Haley as a member of the franchise Hall of Fame. The induction ceremony will likely take place the weekend before, but there will be a big halftime ceremony to honor one of the greatest pass rushers in NFL history. Haley will also be announcing the team's second round pick this Friday at the NFL Draft.

Haley will be honored the month before in Canton, Ohio when he is formally inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame. After years of waiting, Haley got the necessary votes this past winter. Haley is the only person to earn 5 Super Bowl rings during his playing career, and was one of the most formidable pass rushing threats of the 80s and 90s. He had difficult times with teammates and the media, and I would imagine that played a part in the long overdue wait for recognition.

Charles Haley: "I'm so pleased and so thankful that the 49ers deemed me worthy to put in their Hall of Fame," said Haley. "When you go down to the museum in the stadium, you get to see those guys in their bronze statues, oh my goodness. I had goose bumps. I hoped that one day I would have an opportunity to be a part of that group. I don't know how to express my excitement."

Jed York: "Charles was a player whose mere presence on the field could change the game and his accomplishments speak loudly for themselves. We are so proud to induct Charles into the 49ers Hall of Fame and for him to take his rightful place among the other greats in our team's history. We look forward to joining with our fans to celebrate his career during our season opener against the Vikings on national television. Charles is certainly no stranger to big moments on Monday Night Football."

The 49ers Hall of Fame now includes the following players, coaches and executives:


Owner Eddie DeBartolo
Head coach Bill Walsh
DT Leo Nomellini
FB Joe Perry
RB Hugh McElhenny
QB Y.A. Tittle
FB John Henry Johnson
OT Bob St. Clair
CB Jimmy Johnson
QB Joe Montana
DB Ronnie Lott
LB Dave Wilcox
QB Steve Young
DE Fred Dean
DT Charlie Krueger
QB John Brodie
WR Dwight Clark


WR Jerry Rice
Founder Tony Morabito, Co-owner Vic Morabito


RB Roger Craig
WR R.C. Owens


WR/K Gordy Soltau


VP/GM John McVay


Head coach George Seifert