clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

49ers rookie uniform numbers: Mike Davis gets Garrison Hearst's number, Eli Harold gets Keena Turner's

We are starting to learn about the uniform numbers for 49ers rookies. Here are two of them.

Jason Getz-USA TODAY Sports

The San Francisco 49ers welcomed nine of their ten rookies on Monday, and they have begun issuing uniform numbers. The team has not formally announced the numbers, but players have started posting things on social. Mike Davis posted a picture to Instagram, while Eli Harold tweeted a mention of his number.

Mike Davis - maybe No. 20

I say maybe because second year cornerback Kenneth Acker recently switched from No. 24 to No. 20, with Shareece Wright getting No. 24. Davis posted this picture to Instagram, so it would appear he will be getting the number. There will be confirmation at some point.

If this is correct, Davis gets a number worn by a great 49ers running back, Garrison Hearst. The number was worn by Perrish Cox last season, and running back Brian Westbrook sported it before that, but Hearst is the most prominent player to wear No. 20 in 49ers history. Here is a list of players to wear No. 20, according to Pro Football Reference:

DB/RB Bill Stits: 1957-58
DB George Donnelly: 1965-67
DB Tony Harris: 1971
DB/WR Mike Holmes: 1974-75
DB/WR/RB James Owens: 1979
WR Terry Anderson: 1980
RB Amos Lawrence: 1981-82
DB Tory Nixon: 1985-88
RB Derek Loville: 1994-96
RB Garrison Hearst: 1997-2003
S Mike Adams: 2004-06
CB/KR Allen Rossum: 2008-09
CB Keith Smith: 2009
RB Brian Westbrook: 2010-11
S Madieu Williams: 2011
CB Perrish Cox: 2012-14

Dream come true

A photo posted by Mike Davis (@mikedavisrb) on

Eli Harold - No. 58

The San Francisco 49ers new outside linebacker posted a tweet with his uniform number, and then retweeted some folks showing No. 58 jerseys from the team store. The 49ers mix up 50s and 90s for their pass rushers. Aldon Smith wears No. 99, Ahmad Brooks wears 55, and Aaron Lynch wears 59.

The most notable 49er to wear No. 58 is Keena Turner. Noted wide receiver Billy Wilson also wore the number his first year in the NFL, but then switched over to No. 84 for the bulk of his career. Here is a list of players to wear No. 58, according to Pro Football Reference:

End Jack Nix: 1950
WR Bill Wilson: 1951
DE Walt Yowarsky: 1958
LB Jack Chapple: 1965
DE Walter Johnson: 1967
LB Jim Sniadecki: 1969-73
LB Bill McKoy: 1974
LB Howard Stidham: 1977
LB Mark Nichols: 1978
LB Gordy Ceresino: 1979
LB Keena Turner: 1980-90
LB/DE Todd Kelly: 1993-94
LB Randy Kirk: 1999
LB Frank Strong: 2002
DE Corey Smith: 2005
LB Alex Joseph: 2010-11
DE Ricky Elmore: 2011
OLB Darius Fleming: 2012-13
OLB Chase Thomas: 2014