clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

49ers waive offensive lineman Chris Martin, per agent

The San Francisco 49ers claimed an offensive lineman off waivers this weekend. They are now following it up by unloading another offensive lineman.

Ron Chenoy-USA TODAY Sports

The San Francisco 49ers have waived offensive lineman Chris Martin, according to his agent. His agent referred to it as a release, but I believe Martin must clear waivers because he is not a vested veteran. The reasoning his agent provided is pretty obvious:

The 49ers offensive line includes the following:

OT: Joe StaleyErik PearsTrenton Brown, Patrick Miller, Justin Renfrow, Sean Hooey
OG: Alex Boone, Joe Looney, Brandon Thomas, Andrew Tiller, Ian Silberman
C: Daniel Kilgore, Marcus Martin, Dillon Farrell

The roster move leaves the 49ers with 88 players. The team claimed Sean Hooey off waivers over the weekend. They had room to add him, but it would seem like they know enough about Martin to move on and consider other options.

Right now, the locks would seem to be Joe Staley, Alex Boone, Brandon Thomas, Daniel Kilgore and Marcus Martin. I was tempted to include Erik Pears, but I'm just not entirely sure. He got a lot of work with the first team in the offseason workout program, but a lot can change once pads go on in August. The five locks I listed are not going anywhere when final roster cuts are made. I fully expect Pears to be on the roster, but there is still that chance that Brandon Thomas, Trenton Brown, Joe Looney and/or Dillon Farrell do enough in securing starting or reserve spots to force a change.

Here is the 49ers full roster:

Players currently on roster: 89

QB Colin Kaepernick
QB Blaine Gabbert
QB Dylan Thompson

RB Carlos Hyde
RB Kendall Hunter
RB Reggie Bush
RB Kendall Gaskins
RB Jarryd Hayne
RB Mike Davis

FB Bruce Miller
FB Trey Millard

WR Anquan Boldin
WR Torrey Smith
WR Quinton Patton
WR Bruce Ellington
WR Chuck Jacobs
WR Jerome Simpson
WR DeAndre Smelter
WR Dres Anderson
WR Issac Blakeney
WR DiAndre Campbell
WR DeAndrew White
WR Darius Davis

TE Vernon Davis
TE Vance McDonald
TE Garrett Celek
TE Derek Carrier
TE Asante Cleveland
TE Xavier Grimble
TE Blake Bell
TE Rory Anderson

OT Joe Staley
OL Trenton Brown
OL Patrick Miller
OL Justin Renfrow
OT Sean Hooey

OG Alex Boone
OL Joe Looney
OL Erik Pears
OG Brandon Thomas
OG Andrew Tiller
OL Ian Silberman

C Daniel Kilgore
C Marcus Martin
C Dillon Farrell

DL Darnell Dockett
DL Ian Williams
DL Glenn Dorsey
DL Tank Carradine
DL Quinton Dial
DL Tony Jerod-Eddie
DL Lawrence Okoye
DL Mike Purcell
DL Kaleb Ramsey
DL Garrison Smith
DL Arik Armstead

ILB NaVorro Bowman
ILB Michael Wilhoite
ILB Nick Moody
ILB Shayne Skov
ILB Desmond Bishop
ILB Nick Bellore
ILB Phillip Wheeler

OLB Aldon Smith
OLB Ahmad Brooks
OLB Corey Lemonier
OLB Aaron Lynch
OLB Eli Harold
OLB Marcus Rush

CB Tramaine Brock
CB Dontae Johnson
CB Chris Cook
CB Shareece Wright
CB Keith Reaser
CB Kenneth Acker
CB Leon McFadden
CB Marcus Cromartie
DB Mylan Hicks

S Eric Reid
S Antoine Bethea
S Craig Dahl
S James McCray
DB Jimmie Ward
S Jaquiski Tartt
S Jermaine Whitehead

K Phil Dawson

P Bradley Pinion

LS Kyle Nelson