clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

49ers 90-man roster following Anthony Davis retirement, Andy Lee trade

New, comments

The San Francisco 49ers had a couple notable transactions this past week. They now head into minicamp with 88 players on the roster. Here is how things stands.

Kelley L Cox-USA TODAY Sports

The San Francisco 49ers kick off their three-day mandatory minicamp on Tuesday, and following last week's craziness, they will do so with an 88-man roster. The team traded Andy Lee to the Cleveland Browns for a conditional 2017 seventh round pick, and learned that Anthony Davis would retire for some unknown period of time. The team formally placed Davis on the reserve/retired list. They hold his contract rights, but obviously they do not pay him and he does not count against the roster limits.

The 49ers now have 88 players on the roster, which means at some point there will be a couple additions. I still think they will want to add a quarterback, but maybe Dylan Thompson just gets all the extra reps in training camp. Bradley Pinion can do kickoff work and deeper field goals, so it is possible they decide it is not worth adding a camp leg to rest Phil Dawson. Other than that, I don't see any position that stands out as in need of additional August depth. Any thoughts?

The full roster is below, and you can read over every single 2015 49ers transaction HERE.

Players currently on roster: 88

QB Colin Kaepernick
QB Blaine Gabbert
QB Dylan Thompson

RB Carlos Hyde
RB Kendall Hunter
RB Reggie Bush
RB Kendall Gaskins
RB Jarryd Hayne
RB Mike Davis

FB Bruce Miller
FB Trey Millard

WR Anquan Boldin
WR Torrey Smith
WR Quinton Patton
WR Bruce Ellington
WR Chuck Jacobs
WR Jerome Simpson
WR DeAndre Smelter
WR Dres Anderson
WR Issac Blakeney
WR DiAndre Campbell
WR DeAndrew White
WR Darius Davis

TE Vernon Davis
TE Vance McDonald
TE Garrett Celek
TE Derek Carrier
TE Asante Cleveland
TE Xavier Grimble
TE Blake Bell
TE Rory Anderson

OT Joe Staley
OT Chris Martin
OL Trenton Brown
OL Patrick Miller
OL Justin Renfrow

OG Alex Boone
OL Joe Looney
OL Erik Pears
OG Brandon Thomas
OG Andrew Tiller
OL Ian Silberman

C Daniel Kilgore
C Marcus Martin
C Dillon Farrell

DL Darnell Dockett
DL Ian Williams
DL Glenn Dorsey
DL Tank Carradine
DL Quinton Dial
DL Tony Jerod-Eddie
DL Lawrence Okoye
DL Mike Purcell
DL Kaleb Ramsey
DL Garrison Smith
DL Arik Armstead

ILB NaVorro Bowman
ILB Michael Wilhoite
ILB Nick Moody
ILB Shayne Skov
ILB Desmond Bishop
ILB Nick Bellore
ILB Phillip Wheeler

OLB Aldon Smith
OLB Ahmad Brooks
OLB Corey Lemonier
OLB Aaron Lynch
OLB Eli Harold
OLB Marcus Rush

CB Tramaine Brock
CB Dontae Johnson
CB Chris Cook
CB Shareece Wright
CB Keith Reaser
CB Kenneth Acker
CB Leon McFadden
CB Marcus Cromartie
DB Mylan Hicks

S Eric Reid
S Antoine Bethea
S Craig Dahl
S James McCray
DB Jimmie Ward
S Jaquiski Tartt
S Jermaine Whitehead

K Phil Dawson

P Bradley Pinion

LS Kyle Nelson