clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

49ers release first depth chart of 2015 preseason

The San Francisco 49ers released their first depth chart of the year. It is entirely unofficial, cobbled together by the PR staff, but it gives us a starting point for this weekend's opener against the Houston Texans.

The San Francisco 49ers travel to face the Houston Texans this weekend in their preseason opener, and with this game comes the first depth chart of the preseason. The depth chart is produced by the team's PR staff, so it must be taken with a grain of salt.

On the offensive side of the Ian Silberman and Dillon Farrell are listed as the second and third centers. However, reports have had Marcus Martin getting a sizable amount of second team center snaps. Trent Brown is listed as the second string right tackle, but he has been getting snaps on both sides of the ball, and might be working his way into the swing tackle role.

On the defensive side of the ball, Arik Armstead is listed at the bottom of the defensive tackle depth chart. He has received praise throughout camp, but this is also a group with a lot of depth. There are questions about a lot of the younger guys, but there are a lot of interesting options. I would not expect a lot of playing time for Glenn Dorsey and Ian Williams this weekend, but the rest of the group will be playing plenty. We'll see where Armstead shows up in the game.

And that's really what we can take from this initial depth chart. It gives us a chance to try and figure out who might be playing earlier in the game, and who might play later in the game.

QB: Colin Kaepernick, Blaine Gabbert, Dylan Thompson
RB: Carlos Hyde, Reggie Bush, Kendall Hunter, Mike Davis, Jarryd Hayne, Kendall Gaskins
FB: Bruce Miller, Trey Millard
TE: Vernon Davis, Vance McDonald, Derek Carrier, Garrett Celek, Blake Bell, Asante Cleveland, Xavier Grimble, Busta Anderson
WR: Anquan Boldin, Quinton Patton, Bruce Ellington, DeAndrew White, Issac Blakeney, DiAndre Campbell, Nigel King
WR: Torrey Smith, Jerome Simpson, Chuck Jacobs, Dres Anderson, Mario Hull
LT: Joe Staley, Patrick Miller, Sean Hooey
LG: Alex Boone, Andrew Tiller
C: Joe Looney, Ian Silberman, Dillon Farrell
RG: Marcus Martin, Brandon Thomas
RT: Erik Pears, Trent Brown, Justin Renfrow

LDT: Glenn Dorsey, Tony Jerod-Eddie, Darnell Dockett, Kaleb Ramsey, Arik Armstead
NT: Ian Williams, Mike Purcell, Garrison Smith
RDT: Quinton Dial, Tank Carradine, Lawrence Okoye
OLB: Ahmad Brooks, Aaron Lynch, Marcus Rush
ILB: NaVorro Bowman, Shayne Skov, Desmond Bishop
ILB: Nick Moody, Philip Wheeler, Steve Beauharnais
OLB: Corey Lemonier, Eli Harold, Shawn Lemon
LCB: Tramaine Brock, Dontae Johnson, Keith Reaser, Mylan Hicks
RCB: Shareece Wright, Marcus Cromartie, Kenneth Acker, Leon McFadden
FS: Eric Reid, Jimmie Ward, Jaquiski Tartt, Jermaine Whitehead
SS: Antoine Bethea, Craig Dahl, L.J. McCray

P: Bradley Pinion
K: Phil Dawson, Corey Acosta
H: Bradley Pinion
PR: Reggie Bush, Bruce Ellington, Jarryd Hayne
KR: Reggie Bush, DeAndrew White, Mario Hull
LS: Kyle Nelson

Active/Illness: LB Nick Bellore
Active/PUP: C Daniel Kilgore
Active/NFI: WR DeAndre Smelter, LB Michael Wilhoite