clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Terrell Owens among first-time nominees for 2016 Pro Football Hall of Fame enshrinement

The former San Francisco 49ers wide receiver is one of 11 first-time nominees for enshrinement in the Hall of Fame. He dominated the game, but will the media hold his dealings with teammates against him?

The Pro Football Hall of Fame announced their list of nominees for the class of 2016, and the San Francisco 49ers have some representation. Most notable, wide receiver Terrell Owens is among the 11 first time nominees. The first time nominees include TO, Brett Favre, running backs Clinton Portis and Brian Westbrook, offensive lineman Alan Faneca, linebackers Keith Bulluck and Mike Vrabel, safeties Lawyer Milloy and Darren Sharper, kicker John Carney and long snapper Ethan Albright.

Favre is a lock to get in on the first ballot, and I'd imagine Alan Faneca will have a strong case. TO is the most interesting of this group, both to 49ers fans, and just in general. He is sixth all time in receptions, second all-time in receiving yards and third all-time in receiving touchdowns. People will raise questions about his dealings with teammates, but from a pure football perspective, he is one of the greats at his position. It will be interesting to see how the media handles his Hall of Fame candidacy.

Other notable 49ers back up on the list of nominees include Roger Craig, Ricky Watters, and Bryant Young. Eddie DeBartolo has already been named a finalist under the contributor category. While the players will go through the cut-down to semifinalists and finalists, DeBartolo moves ahead to the final vote the weekend of Super Bowl 50.