clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

49ers roster cuts: Team releases Philip Wheeler, per Rand Getlin

The San Francisco 49ers have released another veteran, cutting Philip Wheeler. We break down what thew news means as the team continues their roster cuts.

Andrew Weber-USA TODAY Sports

The San Francisco 49ers continue their cut down of veterans. A couple hours after word got out that the team was releasing defensive tackle Darnell Dockett, Rand Getlin is reporting the team will release inside linebacker Philip Wheeler. This marks the second somewhat notable offseason free agency addition getting the axe.

Wheeler was due $870,000 and a $130,000 Week 1 roster bonus. He will cost the team nothing on the cap. However, a muscle strain early in training camp cost him the first three preseason games. He played on Thursday, but that was clearly not enough to earn him his roster spot.

The move could mean big things for Shayne Skov. The team has NaVorro Bowman, Michael Wilhoite and Nick Moody at inside linebacker, with Nick Bellore as a special teams option if he makes the team. Given the injuries suffered at the position, and the significant turnover, this likely means Skov makes the roster. We'll find out tomorrow when the 49ers announce final cuts, but I am guessing Skov makes it.

Here is an updated roster list:

Players currently on roster: 73

QB Colin Kaepernick
QB Blaine Gabbert
QB Dylan Thompson

RB Carlos Hyde
RB Kendall Hunter
RB Reggie Bush
RB Kendall Gaskins
RB Jarryd Hayne
RB Mike Davis

FB Bruce Miller
FB Trey Millard

WR Anquan Boldin
WR Torrey Smith
WR Quinton Patton
WR Bruce Ellington
WR Chuck Jacobs
WR Jerome Simpson
WR DeAndre Smelter
WR Dres Anderson
WR Issac Blakeney
WR DiAndre Campbell
WR DeAndrew White
WR Mario Hull
WR Nigel King

TE Vernon Davis
TE Vance McDonald
TE Garrett Celek
TE Xavier Grimble
TE Blake Bell
TE Rory Anderson

OT Joe Staley
OT Erik Pears
OL Trenton Brown
OL Patrick Miller
OL Justin Renfrow
OL Sean Hooey

OG Alex Boone
OG Joe Looney
OG Brandon Thomas
OG Andrew Tiller
OL Ian Silberman
OG Jordan Devey

C Daniel Kilgore
C Marcus Martin
C Dillon Farrell

DL Darnell Dockett
DL Ian Williams
DL Glenn Dorsey
DL Tank Carradine
DL Quinton Dial
DL Tony Jerod-Eddie
DL Lawrence Okoye
DL Mike Purcell
DL Kaleb Ramsey
DL Garrison Smith
DL Arik Armstead

ILB NaVorro Bowman
ILB Michael Wilhoite
ILB Nick Moody
ILB Shayne Skov
ILB Desmond Bishop
ILB Nick Bellore
ILB Phillip Wheeler
ILB Steve Beauharnais

OLB Ahmad Brooks
OLB Corey Lemonier
OLB Aaron Lynch
OLB Eli Harold
OLB Marcus Rush
OLB Shawn Lemon

CB Tramaine Brock
CB Dontae Johnson
CB Shareece Wright
CB Keith Reaser
CB Kenneth Acker
CB Leon McFadden
CB Marcus Cromartie
CB Mylan Hicks

S Eric Reid
S Antoine Bethea
S Craig Dahl
S L.J. McCray
DB Jimmie Ward
S Jaquiski Tartt
S Jermaine Whitehead

K Phil Dawson
K Corey Acosta

P Bradley Pinion

LS Kyle Nelson