clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL roster cuts: 49ers announce 6 roster cuts

The 49ers have formalized six of their roster cuts. That leaves them at 69 players. We have a complete list of where things stands.

The San Francisco 49ers formally announced the release of six players, cutting their roster down to 69 players. The team announced the releases of wide receiver Issac Blakeney, safety Craig Dahl, defensive tackle Darnell Dockett, offensive lineman Joe Looney, offensive lineman Patrick Miller and linebacker Philip Wheeler.

The Dahl, Dockett, Looney and Wheeler moves are not shocking, but veteran releases at this time of the year always catch me a little off guard. The 49ers are going younger at all three position. They have invested in the offensive line, safety and defensive line, and the time has come to figure out what those draft picks can do. They still have veterans in place, but while some younger players will be starting, others will be getting important time as reserves.

The team did not announce it, but on Saturday they will place wide receiver Jerome Simpson on the Reserve/Suspended list. That means they are in fact down to 68 players. That leaves them with 15 more moves to make. I imagine they are hitting the phones for trades, but it is not an easy time to do trades.

The 49ers are now down to 70 players, at least based on news that has leaked.

Here is an updated roster list:

Players currently on roster: 69

QB Colin Kaepernick
QB Blaine Gabbert
QB Dylan Thompson

RB Carlos Hyde
RB Kendall Hunter
RB Reggie Bush
RB Kendall Gaskins
RB Jarryd Hayne
RB Mike Davis

FB Bruce Miller
FB Trey Millard

WR Anquan Boldin
WR Torrey Smith
WR Quinton Patton
WR Bruce Ellington
WR Chuck Jacobs
WR Jerome Simpson
WR DeAndre Smelter
WR Dres Anderson
WR Issac Blakeney
WR DiAndre Campbell
WR DeAndrew White
WR Mario Hull
WR Nigel King

TE Vernon Davis
TE Vance McDonald
TE Garrett Celek
TE Xavier Grimble
TE Blake Bell
TE Rory Anderson

OT Joe Staley
OT Erik Pears
OL Trenton Brown
OL Patrick Miller
OL Justin Renfrow
OL Sean Hooey

OG Alex Boone
OG Joe Looney
OG Brandon Thomas
OG Andrew Tiller
OL Ian Silberman
OG Jordan Devey

C Daniel Kilgore
C Marcus Martin
C Dillon Farrell

DL Darnell Dockett
DL Ian Williams
DL Glenn Dorsey
DL Tank Carradine
DL Quinton Dial
DL Tony Jerod-Eddie
DL Lawrence Okoye
DL Mike Purcell
DL Kaleb Ramsey
DL Garrison Smith
DL Arik Armstead

ILB NaVorro Bowman
ILB Michael Wilhoite
ILB Nick Moody
ILB Shayne Skov
ILB Desmond Bishop
ILB Nick Bellore
ILB Phillip Wheeler
ILB Steve Beauharnais

OLB Ahmad Brooks
OLB Corey Lemonier
OLB Aaron Lynch
OLB Eli Harold
OLB Marcus Rush
OLB Shawn Lemon

CB Tramaine Brock
CB Dontae Johnson
CB Shareece Wright
CB Keith Reaser
CB Kenneth Acker
CB Leon McFadden
CB Marcus Cromartie
CB Mylan Hicks

S Eric Reid
S Antoine Bethea
S Craig Dahl
S L.J. McCray
DB Jimmie Ward
S Jaquiski Tartt
S Jermaine Whitehead

K Phil Dawson
K Corey Acosta

P Bradley Pinion

LS Kyle Nelson