clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

49ers roster cuts: Andrew Tiller, Dylan Thompson released

The San Francisco 49ers have released Andrew Tiller following a fairly solid offseason. Odds are decent he gets claimed off waivers.

The San Francisco 49ers have released guard Andrew Tiller and quarterback Dylan Thompson. Tiller's agent confirmed the former news on Twitter, while Adam Caplan is reporting the latter news. The moves cut the 49ers roster down to 68 players. They were at 69 before acquiring center Nick Easton via trade. They have 16 more roster moves to make, including placing Jerome Simpson on the Reserve/Suspended list.

Tiller graded out well at PFF, rating higher than any other guard in the NFL. He actually handled first team guard work while Alex Boone was away from the voluntary portion of the offseason workout program. I am not surprised Tiller was released, but given the offensive line issues, he seemed like a potentially decent option. He still has practice squad availability, but I could see him getting claimed off waivers tomorrow afternoon.

Thompson had a strong performance in the preseason finale, but remains a developmental prospect. If he clears waivers, he is a strong practice squad candidate.

Here is an updated roster list:

Players currently on roster: 68

QB Colin Kaepernick
QB Blaine Gabbert
QB Dylan Thompson

RB Carlos Hyde
RB Kendall Hunter
RB Reggie Bush
RB Kendall Gaskins
RB Jarryd Hayne
RB Mike Davis

FB Bruce Miller
FB Trey Millard

WR Anquan Boldin
WR Torrey Smith
WR Quinton Patton
WR Bruce Ellington
WR Chuck Jacobs
WR Jerome Simpson
WR Issac Blakeney
WR DiAndre Campbell
WR DeAndrew White
WR Mario Hull
WR Nigel King

TE Vernon Davis
TE Vance McDonald
TE Garrett Celek
TE Xavier Grimble
TE Blake Bell
TE Rory Anderson

OT Joe Staley
OT Erik Pears
OL Trenton Brown
OL Patrick Miller
OL Justin Renfrow
OL Sean Hooey

OG Alex Boone
OG Joe Looney
OG Brandon Thomas
OG Andrew Tiller
OL Ian Silberman
OG Jordan Devey

C Marcus Martin
C Dillon Farrell
C Nick Easton

DL Darnell Dockett
DL Ian Williams
DL Glenn Dorsey
DL Tank Carradine
DL Quinton Dial
DL Tony Jerod-Eddie
DL Lawrence Okoye
DL Mike Purcell
DL Kaleb Ramsey
DL Garrison Smith
DL Arik Armstead

ILB NaVorro Bowman
ILB Michael Wilhoite
ILB Nick Moody
ILB Shayne Skov
ILB Nick Bellore
ILB Phillip Wheeler
ILB Steve Beauharnais

OLB Ahmad Brooks
OLB Corey Lemonier
OLB Aaron Lynch
OLB Eli Harold
OLB Marcus Rush
OLB Shawn Lemon

CB Tramaine Brock
CB Dontae Johnson
CB Shareece Wright
CB Keith Reaser
CB Kenneth Acker
CB Leon McFadden
CB Marcus Cromartie
CB Mylan Hicks

S Eric Reid
S Antoine Bethea
S Craig Dahl
S L.J. McCray
DB Jimmie Ward
S Jaquiski Tartt
S Jermaine Whitehead

K Phil Dawson
K Corey Acosta

P Bradley Pinion

LS Kyle Nelson