clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

San Francisco 49ers roster cuts 2015: Official moves announced with 53-man roster in place

The San Francisco 49ers officially announced their final roster cuts. We take an early look at what the 53-man roster looks like heading into 2015.

The San Francisco 49ers announced their final roster cuts Saturday afternoon, and now stand at the 53-man limit. The cut down included some surprises. Nick Moody was released, and the team placed Kendall Hunter and Busta Anderson on injured reserve. The Moody release is surprising, but given all the work they gave him with the 1s before Michael Wilhoite returned, you can't say they didn't get enough film on him. Their final cuts included:

WR DiAndre Campbell
CB Marcus Cromartie
G/C Dillon Farrell
RB Kendall Gaskins
TE Xavier Grimble
CB Leon McFadden
LB Nick Moody
DT Kaleb Ramsey
OL Justin Renfrow
DL Marcus Rush
NT Garrison Smith
QB Dylan Thompson
G Andrew Tiller
S Jermaine Whitehead

Moody was yet another veteran release, although he was obviously a much younger veteran. On Friday, the team released Darnell Dockett, Craig Dahl, Joe Looney and Philip Wheeler. The Moody release is surprising considering he was only entering his third season. But it would seem they are more impressed with Shayne Skov's upside.

The Anderson and Hunter moves are clever. Both played on Thursday, but the team is able to stash them for one more year. The team could still agree to an injury settlement with either player, and that could make some sense for Hunter. But I do like stashing Anderson for a year.

Here is the full 53-man roster.

QB: Colin Kaepernick, Blaine Gabbert
RB: Carlos Hyde, Reggie Bush, Mike Davis, Jarryd Hayne
FB: Bruce Miller
TE: Vernon Davis, Vance McDonald, Garrett Celek, Blake Bell
WR: Anquan Boldin, Torrey Smith, Quinton Patton, Bruce Ellington, DeAndrew White
OL: Joe Staley, Alex Boone, Marcus Martin, Jordan Devey, Ian Silberman, Nick Easton, Brandon Thomas, Erik Pears, Trent Brown

DL: Glenn Dorsey, Ian Williams, Quinton Dial, Tank Carradine, Mike Purcell, Tony Jerod-Eddie, Arik Armstead
OLB: Ahmad Brooks, Aaron Lynch, Corey Lemonier, Eli Harold
ILB: NaVorro Bowman, Shayne Skov, Nick Bellore, Michael Wilhoite
CB: Tramaine Brock, Dontae Johnson, Keith Reaser, Kenneth Acker, Shareece Wright
FS: Eric Reid, Jimmie Ward, Jaquiski Tartt
SS: Antoine Bethea, L.J. McCray

P: Bradley Pinion
K: Phil Dawson
LS: Kyle Nelson

Reserve/PUP: C Daniel Kilgore
Reserve/NFI: WR DeAndre Smelter
Reserve/Suspended: Jerome Simpson
IR: WR Dres Anderson, TE Busta Anderson, RB Kendall Hunter