clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Channel Seven, ESPN to broadcast 15 49ers games in Australia

New, comments

Australia is excited for Jarryd Hayne's potential impact with the San Francisco 49ers. They will be able to watch plenty of him, as at least 15 of the 49ers 16 regular season games will broadcast in Australia.

Late last month, word got out that Australian Channel Seven was trying to cover all San Francisco 49ers games if Jarryd Hayne made the roster. There was talk they were in negotiations with the NFL to make that happen. Now that Hayne has made the roster, it appears they successfully added 49ers coverage. It might just be part of their pre-existing purchased coverage, but whatever the case, they will be covering a whole bunch of games.

Channel Seven will be broadcasting three NFL games each Sunday, including Sunday Night Football. For most weeks, one of those three games will include the 49ers. The only weeks in which the 49ers will not appear is Week 1 when they face the Minnesota Vikings on ESPN's Monday Night Football, and Week 7 when they face the Seattle Seahawks on NFL Network.

ESPN has already announced 49ers-Vikings will be shown on ESPN Australia. I do not know if NFL Network is accessible in Australia. I saw a mention that it might air on ESPN Australia, but I am not positive. I have inquired on that, but otherwise, Australian fans will have a chance to watch every other 49ers game this season. I have to imagine that is the first time in a long time, if ever.

Here is a rundown of the 49ers schedule, with the Bay Area time and channel, and then in parenthesis, Australian day and time. It looks like a couple might actually be on tape delay.

Week 1: vs. Vikings - Mon, Sep 14, 7:20 p.m. ESPN (Tues 9/15, 12:20 p.m. - ESPN)
Week 2: @ Steelers - Sun, Sep 20, 10:00 a.m. FOX (Mon 9/21, 3:00 a.m. - 7mate)
Week 3: @ Cardinals - Sun, Sep 27, 1:05 p.m. FOX (Mon 9/28, 6:05 a.m. - 7mate)
Week 4: vs. Packers - Sun, Oct 4, 1:25 p.m. FOX (Mon 10/5, 7:25 a.m. - 7mate)
Week 5: @ Giants - Sun, Oct 11, 5:30 p.m. NBC (Mon 10/12, 11:30 a.m. - 7mate)
Week 6: vs. Ravens - Sun, Oct 18, 1:25 p.m. CBS (Mon 10/19, 7:30 a.m. - 7mate)
Week 7: vs. Seahawks - Thur, Oct 22, 5:25 p.m. NFLN (TBD - I think ESPN Australia might air it)
Week 8: @ Rams - Sun, Nov 1, 10:00 a.m. FOX (Mon 11/2, 5:00 a.m. - 7mate)
Week 9: vs. Falcons - Sun, Nov 8, 1:05 p.m. FOX (Mon 11/9, 6:05 a.m. - 7mate)
Week 10: BYE
Week 11: @ Seahawks - Sun, Nov 22, 1:25 p.m. FOX (Mon 11/23, 8:30 a.m. - 7mate)
Week 12: vs. Cardinals - Sun, Nov 29, 1:05 p.m. FOX (Mon 11/30, 6:05 a.m. - 7mate)
Week 13: @ Bears - Sun, Dec 6, 10:00 a.m. FOX (Mon 12/7, 5:00 a.m. - 7mate)
Week 14: @ Browns - Sun, Dec 13, 10:00 a.m. FOX (Mon 12/14, 5:00 a.m. - 7mate)
Week 15: vs. Bengals - Sun, Dec 20, 5:30 p.m. NBC (Mon 12/21, 12:30 a.m. - 7mate)
Week 16: @ Lions - Sun, Dec 27, 10:00 a.m. FOX (Mon 12/28, 5:00 a.m. - 7mate)
Week 17: vs. Rams - Sun, Jan 3, 1:25 p.m. FOX (Mon 1/4, 8:30 a.m. - 7mate)