clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Arik Armstead, Shayne Skov, Mike Davis reveal new uniform numbers

The San Francisco 49ers have handed out some new uniform numbers. We take a look at their history.

The San Francisco 49ers made their final roster cuts over the weekend, and rookies and first year players are officially settling into the game week. The final cuts also brought up some changes in uniform numbers. The team has not formally announced changes, but players have begun announcing them on social media. The three changes of note so far are Arik Armstead, Shayne Skov and Mike Davis.

Fooch's update, 11:56 a.m.

Armstead switched from No. 69 to No. 91, and posted the picture below on Instagram with the caption, "Coming to a store near you". Ray McDonald wore the number from 2007 to 2014. Prior to that it was worn by defensive tackle Anthony Adams (2003-2006), defensive tackle Chike Okeafor (1999-2002), and OLB/DE Kevin Green (1997). The last notable player to wear it before that was defensive end Larry Roberts from 1986 to 1993.

Coming to a store near you

A photo posted by Arik Armstead (@sacnina9) on

Skov switched from No. 48 to No. 56, posting the picture below on Instagram with the caption, "New year new number". Dillon Farrell wore the number last year, which always seemed a little odd for an offensive lineman. Brandon Moore was the last notable player to wear it, from 2002 to 2007. Chris Doleman dominated with it from 1996 to 1998. The most productive 49er to wear it was center Fred Quillan from 1978 to 1987.

New year new number

A photo posted by Shayne (@shayneskov) on

Over the weekend, Mike Davis announced he was switching from No. 20 to No. 22. The number has primarily been worn by defensive backs. Carlos Rogers wore it from 2011 to 2013, and Nate Clements sported it from 2007 to 2010. The most notable player in 49ers history to wear it was cornerback Dwight Hicks, from 1979 to 1985.