clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

49ers name nine team captains for 2015

The San Francisco 49ers voted on their team captains for 2015. Jim Tomsula announced the names on Tuesday.

The San Francisco 49ers had a player vote for team captains, and Jim Tomsula announced them Tuesday afternoon. The offensive captains are OT Joe Staley, WR Anquan Boldin, TE Vernon Davis and QB Colin Kaepernick. The defensive captains are SS Antoine Bethea, ILB NaVorro Bowman, FS Eric Reid and NT Ian Williams. The special teams captain is K Phil Dawson.

The team will not wear the captain designation on game day. Tomsula said "I'm into a team game." Normally there are a lot fewer captains, but Tomsula said he left it up to the players to figure it out. This marks the third straight season Kap has been a team captain. Joe Staley joins him for a second straight season. Frank Gore, Patrick Willis and Justin Smith were all some of the regular captains in recent seasons.

I am not entirely sure if that whole group of captains will be going on the field on game day. I would assume it will be a rotating group since nine is kind of big. Ian Williams suggested the large number of captains was meant to show this is all about the team. Tomsula said as much in response to a different question. He was asked about the opener being a big moment for him since taking over as head coach.

I really honestly don't believe this is the Jim show. This isn't about Jim Tomsula. It's about the Niners. It's about the locker room. It's about everybody that puts the pieces together to make this happen organizationally. So, I take the piece that I have very seriously and I feel a sense of responsibility to do it in the absolute best way that I can possibly do it to make sure that everything else can move forward in their way.