clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2016 Pro Bowl draft: Time, TV schedule, live stream and rules

The 2016 Pro Bowl takes place this Sunday, and the San Francisco 49ers will have two players involved in the game. NaVorro Bowman and Joe Staley were both voted onto the Pro Bowl, and neither has backed out at this point. That means they will take part in the now annual Pro Bowl roster draft, which takes place Wednesday evening at 4:30 p.m. PT on ESPN2.

The two teams are captained by Michael Irvin and Jerry Rice. They will be assisted by team captains Geno Atkins, Odell Beckham Jr., Aaron Donald and Devonta Freeman. They will alternate picks, and that could result in Bowman and Staley squaring off against each other if they end up on opposite teams.

I am a little surprised Bowman is still taking part in the game. He made his return from knee surgery, and played the entire season. He has talked about the extensive recovery process, including what he had to do to get ready for each game. I figured we might see him bow out to rest his knee. But it would seem like his knee is in plenty good shape at this point. I'll take it as a positive that he feels comfortable playing in the game. This would actually be his first chance to play in the Pro Bowl. He was selected in 2012 and 2013, which he missed due to the Super Bowl and his knee injury, respectively. I don't blame him for wanting a free trip to Hawaii!

The Pro Bowl is the worst of the four All Star Games due to the fact that so many players drop out, and they play slightly better than glorified flag football at times. Nonetheless, there will be something to watch if you're a 49ers fan. Here's a rundown of all the details for tonight's draft show.

How to watch Pro Bowl draft

Where: Wheeler Army Airfield, Wahiawa, Hawaii
When: 4:30 p.m. PT
Online: WatchESPN

The Pro Bowl begins at 4:30 p.m. PT on Sunday and will be televised on ESPN. Here's the updated roster.

Quarterbacks: Russell Wilson, Eli Manning, Derek Carr, Teddy Bridgewater, Tyrod Taylor, Jameis Winson
Running backs: Adrian Peterson, Devonta Freeman, Todd Gurley, Doug Martin, Latavius Murray, Chris Ivory
Wide receivers: Odell Beckham Jr., Antonio Brown, T.Y. Hilton, A.J. Green, DeAndre Hopkins, Allen Robinson, Julio Jones, Amari Cooper
Fullbacks: Marcel Reece, Patrick DiMarco
Tackles: Tyron Smith, Joe Staley, Joe Thomas, Andrew Whitworth, Trent Williams, Kyle Long
Guards: David DeCastro, Richie Incognito, Josh Sitton, Logan Mankins, Marshal Yanda, Zack Martin
Centers: Travis Frederick, Eric Wood, Mike Pouncey, Alex Mack
Defensive ends: Ziggy Ansah, Michael Bennett, Chandler Jones, Khalil Mack, J.J. Watt, Carlos Dunlap
Defensive tackles: Geno Atkins, Calais Campbell, Fletcher Cox, Aaron Donald, Gerald McCoy, Jurrell Casey
Inside linebackers: NaVorro Bowman, Derrick Johnson, Clay Matthews, Bobby Wagner
Outside linebackers: Anthony Barr, Elvis Dumervil, Tamba Hali, Sean Lee, Julius Peppers, Lavonte David
Cornerbacks: Vontae Davis, Desmond Trufant, Marcus Peters, Adam Jones, Darrelle Revis, Richard Sherman, Brent Grimes, Dominique Rodgers-Cromartie
Free safeties: Malcolm Jenkins, Reshas Jones, Harrison Smith
Strong safeties: Eric Berry, Mike Adams, Charles Woodson
Punters: Sam Koch, Johnny Hekker
Kickers: Dan Bailey, Josh Brown
Return specialists: Tyler Lockett, Darren Sproles
Special teamers: Justin Bethel, Cedric Peerman