clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2016 San Francisco 49ers training camp practice, press conference schedule

New, comments

The 49ers start training camp on Saturday. Here’s the full schedule.

The San Francisco 49ers return for training camp this week, and we have a full schedule of events for the first two weeks. This leads up to the first preseason game, at home against the Houston Texans. That game is preceded by a joint practice with the Texans. The schedule ends with the Texans game on August 14. However, a separate release said the 49ers will fly to Denver on Tuesday August 16 for their Week 2 preseason game against the Broncos. They will hold joint practices on August 17 and 18, and the game takes place on Saturday, August 20.

I’ve posted the full schedule below. The most notable change this year is that all the practices these first two weeks are in the morning. In the past, the 49ers have done a lot of afternoon practices. Chip Kelly apparently has bumped them up this year. We’ve heard in the past that Kelly likes to keep things tight and intense, but not keep players around the facility longer than necessary.

The schedule includes which coaches are speaking on which days. Naturally Chip Kelly will get the most time at the mic, but we also get a decent amount of defensive coordinator Jim O’Neil and offensive coordinator Curtis Modkins. The day before the Texans preseason game, we get a broader assistant coach media day.

We’ll have open threads and live streams throughout, as well as transcripts after the fact. In the meantime, here is the information to know.

Saturday, July 30
12:30-1:30 p.m. - Player availability

Sunday, July 31
10:10 a.m. - Chip Kelly press conference
10:25 a.m. - First full squad practice - players available following practice

Monday, August 1
10:10 a.m. - DC Jim O’Neil press conference
10:25 a.m. - Practice - players available following practice

Tuesday, August 2
10:10 a.m. - Chip Kelly press conference
10:25 a.m. - First full squad padded practice - players available following practice

Wednesday, August 3
Players day off

Thursday, August 4
10:10 a.m. - OC Curtis Modkins press conference
10:25 a.m. - Practice - players available following practice

Friday, August 5
10:10 a.m. - Chip Kelly press conference
10:25 a.m. - Practice - players available following practice

Saturday, August 6
10:10 a.m. - DC Jim O’Neil press conference
10:25 a.m. - Practice - players available following practice

Sunday, August 7
10:10 a.m. - Chip Kelly press conference
10:25 a.m. - Practice - players available following practice

Monday, August 8
Players day off

Tuesday, August 9
10:10 a.m. - OC Curtis Modkins press conference
10:25 a.m. - Practice - players available following practice

Wednesday, August 10 - Kezar Stadium, San Francisco
10:10 a.m. - Chip Kelly press conference
10:25 a.m. - Practice - players available following practice

Thursday, August 11
10:10 a.m. - DC Jim O’Neil press conference
10:25 a.m. - Practice - players available following practice

Friday, August 12 - Joint practice with Texans, Santa Clara
10:10 a.m. - Chip Kelly press conference
10:25 a.m. - Practice - players available following practice

Saturday, August 13
10:25 a.m. - Practice - assistant coaches available following practice, no player availability

Sunday, August 14
4:00 p.m. - 49ers vs. Texans preseason game