clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Almost time for Eddie DeBartolo's enshrinement in the Pro Football Hall of Fame

Former San Francisco 49ers owner Eddie DeBartolo will be enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame this weekend, and there is plenty of activity leading up to the event. The 49ers Studios team is on hand in Canton, and has been making their way around the Hall, taking in the sights. On Thursday, they used Snapchat to get pictures of all the 49ers Hall of Fame busts, and the location of DeBartolo's soon-to-be bust. I've posted all the pictures, in order of enshrinement.

My favorite class has to be the Class of 2000. That year saw Joe Montana, Ronnie Lott, and Dave Wilcox all inducted the same year. That year's class featured five total inductees, with Raiders pass rusher Howie Long and Steelers owner Dan Rooney as the non-49ers in the group. Prior to that, the 49ers had a strong run in the late 60s and early 70s. The Hall inducted Leo Nomellini and Joe Perry in 1969, Hugh McElhenny in 1970, and Y.A. Tittle in 1971.

The most notable 49ers player likely on the ballot next year is wide receiver Terrell Owens. His numbers are undeniable, but he did not engender good will with the media, and since they do the voting, they hold the keys to the kingdom. I think he gets in eventually, but who knows how long it will take. For now though, we get to celebrate Eddie DeBartolo's induction!