clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2017 Pro Football Hall of Fame induction ceremony: Time, TV channel, stream, and more

Time to induct some more Hall of Famers ... minus Terrell Owens and John Lynch.

The San Francisco 49ers have a practice today, open to the public at Levi’s Stadium. That gets going at 10:15, and is expected to last approximately three hours. As that practice wraps up, the Pro Football Hall of Fame will be getting underway with its 2017 enshrinement ceremony.

The honorees this year include Terrell Davis, Ladanian Tomlinson, Kurt Warner, Morten Anderson, Jason Taylor, Jerry Jones, and Kenny Easley. They all are deserving in one way or another, although given the length of TD’s career, there is some debate there. And Jerry Jones, well, he’s Jerry Jones.

The TD enshrinement is an interesting one for any player that had tremendous play over a short period. Patrick Willis would be the most notable comparison for 49ers fans. He shined brightly over his eight year career, but injuries cut it short. TD had greater playoff success, which is likely a big reason he got in. He had three All Pro seasons, including a 2,008 rushing yard performance in 1998.

While Willis did not have a lot of playoff appearances in which to shine, he was a five-time first All Pro, and once on the second team. His final two seasons saw injuries get to him, playing only six games his last year before retiring due to his feet issues. He will be eligible in a few years, and it will make for an interesting debate.

Two other deserving players who will have to wait until next year are former 49ers wide receiver Terrell Owens, and current 49er general manager John Lynch. Both were finalists this year, and seem likely to get in eventually.

And of course, once Frank Gore does decide to retire, he will be a name to watch when his eligibility begins.

How to watch

What: 2017 Pro Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Ceremony
When: Saturday, August 5 at 4 p.m. PT
Where: Tom Benson Hall of Fame Stadium, Canton, OH
TV: NFL Network