clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Full list of final roster cuts + current 53-man roster

The 49ers have cut down to 53 players. This roster is likely to change over the next 24 hours.

The San Francisco 49ers have officially made their initial cut down to the 53-man roster requirement. The team announced nine releases on Friday and followed that up Saturday with more cuts, including safety Adrian Colbert. At 1:00 instead of a roster announcement we found that Elijah Lee was cut at linebacker. Later in the hour we finally got the final roster and it’s definitely different than what you’re used to.

It is worth noting that this is not what the 49ers 53-man roster will look like a week from today, and really even 24 hours from now. Most notably, there will be waiver claims on Sunday, and given the 49ers spot at No. 2 in priority, look for them to make some moves.

Kyle Shanahan was saying he was planning on keeping six wide receivers, but it looks like the 49ers are keeping seven pass catchers this year. This might have something to do with Jalen Hurd/Trent Taylor’s injuries or that they just couldn’t come to a decision on who to use. Either way, there are seven wide receivers on the roster.

Also note that John Lynch says Kentavius Street will be placed on IR tomorrow with designation to return. The 49ers will find fill another safety spot with the hole. That means we may get a look at Kentavius Street in the NFL this year.

Here is the full list of roster cuts.

Chris Campbell (CB)
Sam Young (OT)
Tyree Mayfield (TE)
Jay Bromley (DT)
Dontae Johnson (CB)
Wesley Johnson (OL)
Quinten Rollins (CB)
Brandon Wilds (RB)
Jordan Holland (DB)
Josh Garnett (G)
Jeremiah Valoaga (DE)
David Mayo (LB)
Adrian Colbert (S)
Damontre Moore (DE)
Jamell Garcia-Williams (DL)
Ross Reynolds (OL)
Daniel Helm (TE)
Elijah Lee (LB)
Jeff Wilson Jr. (RB)
Antone Exum Jr. (S)
Demetrius Flannigan-Fowles (LB)
Kevin Givens (DL)
Marcell Harris (S)
Malik Henry (WR)
LaRoy Reynolds
Tyree Robinson (S)
Wilton Speight (QB)
Chris Thompson (WR)
Jordan Thompson (DL)
Najee Toran (G)
Austin Walter (RB)
Andrew Lauderdale (OL)

Here is the 53-man roster following those cuts.

QB (3): Jimmy Garoppolo, C.J. Beathard Nick Mullens
RB (3): Tevin Coleman, Matt Breida. Raheem Mostert
FB (1): Kyle Juszczyk
WR (7): Deebo Samuel, Trent Taylor, Jalen Hurd, Marquise Goodwin, Richie James, Kendrick Bourne, Dante Pettis
TE (4): George Kittle, Ross Dwelley, Levine Toilolo, Kaden Smith
OT (4): Joe Staley, Mike McGlinchey, Justin Skule Daniel Brunskill
OG (3): Laken Tomlinson, Mike Person, Ben Garland,
C (1): Weston Richburg
DL (10): DeForest Buckner, Solomon Thomas, Arik Armstead, Nick Bosa, Dee Ford, Kentavius Street, Ronald Blair III, D.J. Jones, Sheldon Day, Julian Taylor
LB (5):Fred Warner, Kwon Alexander, Dre Greenlaw, Azeez Al-Shaair, Mark Nzeocha,
CB (6): Richard Sherman, Ahkello Witherspoon, Jason Verrett, K’Waun Williams, D.J. Reed, Emmanuel Moseley
S (3): Jaquiski Tartt, Tarvarius Moore Jimmie Ward,
K (1): Robbie Gould
P (1): Mitch Wishnowsky
LS (1): Colin Holba
Suspended: Kyle Nelson
NFI/PUP: Tim Harris(IR), Jerick McKinnon (IR), Nick Williams(IR), Garrett Celek (PUP)