clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Four 49ers named to NFL’s All Decade Team for the 2010s

No fullbacks...

Arizona Cardinals v San Francisco 49ers Photo by Don Feria/Getty Images

The NFL announced its all-decade team on Monday for the 2010s, which featured four San Francisco 49ers. The team featured 55 players who were voted in by the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s 48-member selection committee. You were only eligible if you had at least one Pro Bowl selection, were on an AP All-Pro Team or Pro Football Writers Association all-conference team from 2010 through 2019.

There were eight unanimous choices on the team: Tom Brady, Aaron Donald, Von Miller, Adrian Peterson, Joe Thomas, Justin Tucker, J.J. Watt, and Marshal Yanda. The 49ers who made the list were running back Fran Gore, left tackle Joe Staley, linebacker Patrick Willis, and cornerback Richard Sherman. The roster didn’t have any right tackles or fullbacks, as Kyle Juszczyk pointed out:

The 15-year veteran Gore is second in NFL history in rushing yards. Gore is a five-time Pro Bowl selection as well. Staley has one more Pro Bowl nod and appeared in the game five consecutive seasons from 211 to 2015. Willis made the Pro Bowl in his first seven seasons and was an All-Proo five times during his career. Finally, Sherman had been a Pro Bowl selection five times and is a three-time All-Pro.

Juszczyk has an argument. He’s made the Pro Bowl four times during his seven-year career. Here is the full roster. Khalil Mack and Chandler Jones are technically “linebackers” since they play in a 3-4 defense


QB Tom Brady*

QB Aaron Rodgers

RB Frank Gore

RB Marshawn Lynch

RB LeSean McCoy

RB Adrian Peterson*

WR Antonio Brown

WR Larry Fitzgerald

WR Calvin Johnson

WR Julio Jones

FLEX Darren Sproles

TE Rob Gronkowski

TE Travis Kelce

OT Jason Peters

OT Tyron Smith

OT Joe Staley

OT Joe Thomas*

OG Jahri Evans

OG Logan Mankins

OG Zack Martin

OG Marshal Yanda*

C Alex Mack

C Maurkice Pouncey


DE Calais Campbell

DE Cameron Jordan

DE Julius Peppers

DE J.J. Watt*

DT Geno Atkins

DT Fletcher Cox

DT Aaron Donald*

DT Ndamukong Suh

LB Chandler Jones

LB Luke Kuechly

LB Khalil Mack

LB Von Miller*

LB Bobby Wagner

LB Patrick Willis

CB Patrick Peterson

CB Darrelle Revis

CB Richard Sherman

S Eric Berry

S Earl Thomas

S Eric Weddle

DB Chris Harris Jr.

DB Tyrann Mathieu


P Johnny Hekker

P Shane Lechler

K Stephen Gostkowski

K Justin Tucker*

PR Tyreek Hill

PR Darren Sproles

KR Devin Hester

KR Cordarrelle Patterson


Bill Belichick

Pete Carroll