clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL Network analyst Brian Baldinger has high praise for Nick Bosa

Baldinger says Bosa has, “a very good chance,” to win the NFL’s Defensive Player of the Year award.

Photo by Thearon W. Henderson/Getty Images

Let’s just call it what it is: We all love us some Nick Bosa!

The 22-year-old Defensive Rookie of the Year continues to impress people from around the league as he gets ready for his sophomore season.

Bosa will be even better than he was in 2019, and will get plenty of attention from voters when it comes to the Defensive Player of the Year Award in 2020.

The NFL Network’s Brian Baldinger was on 95.7 The Game and had plenty of praise for Bosa (h/t 49ers Web Zone):

“I think, honestly, in talking to players that have played with Nick Bosa in practice, and talking to oppositions that have had to block him. I believe — and I was with a general manager last night talking about pass rushers and, specifically, Nick Bosa — I think he’s got a very good chance to be the defensive MVP of this league. I think he has that kind of talent. And I think he plays with that type of effort that he can swing any game on any play with his ability to get to the quarterback, draw holding calls, you name it. Look, if the 49ers pull off that Super Bowl game, he might very well have been the Super Bowl MVP the way he played in that game.”

Bosa had five tackles, and a sack in the Super Bowl. He was getting after Kansas City Chiefs’ QB Patrick Mahomes until the officials decided that holding, and every other infraction in football was no longer a penalty.

Michael Lombardi summed it up perfectly:

As you can tell, I am still bitter about it.

Bosa should be in a Niners uniform for years to come, so hopefully we will see a couple of Super Bowl championships over that time. It will be expensive to keep the defensive lineman in the Bay Area for the long haul, considering what Bosa’s brother just got paid.

Which NFL players will be Bosa’s main competition for the Defensive Player of the Year Award in 2020?